World currencies

List of World currencies

Published by

If you're about to buy your travel money (also known as 'foreign currency') but don't know your euros from your dollars and your drachma from your Yen, then fear not because we have compiled a guide to help you find the currency for the country of your choice.

Hand holding suitcase and euro notes

Need travel money? 

Foreign currency for chief holiday destinations:

Australian currency : Australian Dollars (AUD)

Canadian currency : Canadian Dollars (CAD)

European currency : Euros (EUR)

Japanese currency : Japan Yen (JPY)

New Zealand currency : New Zealand Dollars (NZD)

South African currency : South Africa Rand (ZAR)

United Kingdom currency : Pound Sterling (GBP)

USA currency : United States Dollars (USD)

Foreign currency for the rest of the world:

Afghanistan currency : Afghanistan Afghanis (AFN)

Albanian currency : Albania Leke (ALL)

Algerian currency : Algerian Dinars (DZD)

American currency : United States Dollars (USD)

Andorran currency : Euros (EUR)

Angolan currency : Angolan Kwanza (AOA)

Antiguan currency : East Caribbean Dollar (XCD)

Argentinean currency : Argentina Pesos (ARS)

Armenian currency : Armenian Dram (AMD)

Austrian currency :  Euros (EUR) formerly Austrian Schillings (ATS)

Bahamas currency : Bahamas Dollars (BSD)

Bahraini currency : Bahrain Dinars (BHD)

Bangladeshi currency : Bangladesh Taka (BDT)

Barbados currency : Barbados Dollars (BBD)

Barbuda currency : East Caribbean Dollar (XCD)

Belgian currency : Euros (EUR) formerly Belgian Francs (BEF)

Bermudan currency : Bermuda dollars (BMD)

Bolivian currency : Boliviano (BOB)

Bosnia Herzegovina currency : Convertible Mark (BAM)

Brazilian currency : Brazil Reais (BRL)

British currency : Pound Sterling (GBP)

Bulgarian currency : Bulgaria Leva (BGN)

Cameroon currency : CFA Franc (XAF)

Chilean currency : Chile Pesos (CLP)

Chinese currency : China Yuan RenMinBi (RMB)

Colombian currency : Colombia Pesos (COP)

Costa Rican currency : Costa Rica Colones (CRC)

Croatian currency : Croatia Kuna (HRK)

Cuba currency : Cuban Peso (CUP)

Cypriot currency : Euros (EUR) formerly Cyprus Pounds (CYP)

Czech currency : Czech Republic Koruny (CZK)

Danish currency : Denmark Kroner (DKK)

Dominican Republic currency :  Dominican Republic Pesos (DOP)

Dutch currency :  Euros (EUR) formerly Dutch (Netherlands) Guilders (NLG)

Eastern Caribbean currency :  Eastern Caribbean Dollars (XCD)

Ecuador currency : US Dollar (USD)

Egyptian currency : Egypt Pounds (EGP)

Estonian currency : Estonia Krooni (EEK)

European currency : Euros (EUR)

Fijian currency : Fiji Dollars (FJD)

Finnish currency : Euros (EUR) formerly Finland Markkaa (FIM)

French currency : Euros (EUR) formerly French Francs (FRF)

French Polynesian currency : French Pacific Franc (XPF)

Georgian currency : Georgian Lari (GEL)

German currency : Euros (EUR) formerly Deutsch Marks (DEM)

Greek currency :  Euros (EUR) formerly Greece Drachmae (GRD)

Holland currency :  Euros (EUR) formerly Dutch (Netherlands) Guilders (NLG)

Hong Kong currency : Hong Kong Dollars (HKD)

Hungarian currency : Hungary Forint (HUF)

Icelandic currency : Iceland Kruner (ISK)

Indian currency : Indian Rupees (INR)

Indonesian currency : Indonesia Rupiahs (IDR)

Iranian currency : Iran Rials (IRR)

Iraqi currency : Iraq Dinars (IQD)

Irish currency : Euros (EUR) formerly Ireland Pounds (IEP)

Israeli currency : Israel New Shekels (ILS)

Italian currency : Euros (EUR) formerly Italian Lire (ITL)

Jamaican currency : Jamaica Dollars (JMD)

Jordanian currency : Jordan Dinars (JOD)

Kazakhstan currency : Kazakhstan Tenge (KZT)

Kenyan currency : Kenya Shillings (KES)

Korean currency : Korean (South) Won (KRW)

Kuwaiti currency : Kuwait Dinars (KWD)

Latvian currency : Latvian Lats (LS or LVL)

Lebanese currency : Lebanon Pounds (LBP)

Liechtenstein currency : Swiss Franc (CHF)

Lithuanian currency : Lithuanian Litas (LT)

Luxembourg currency : Luxembourg Francs (LUF)

Malaysian currency : Malaysia Ringgits (MYR)

Maldivian currency : Maldives Rufiyah (RF)

Maltese currency : Malta Liri (MTL)

Mauritian currency : Mauritius Rupees (MUR)

Mexican currency : Mexico Pesos (MXN)

Moldovan currency : Moldovan Leu (MDL)

Moroccan currency : Morocco Dirhams (MAD)

Netherlands currency :  Euros (EUR) formerly Dutch (Netherlands) Guilders (NLG)

Norwegian currency : Norway Kroner (NOK)

Oman currency : Oman Rials (OMR)

Pakistani currency : Pakistan Rupees (PKR)

Paraguay currency : Paraguay Guarani (PYG)

Peruvian currency : Peru Nuevos Soles (PEN)

Philippine currency : Philippines Pesos (PHP)

Polish currency : Poland Zlotych (PLN)

Portuguese currency : Euros (EUR) formerly Portugal Escudos (PTE)

Qatar currency : Qatar Riyals (QAR)

Romanian currency :  Romanian New Lei (RON) formerly Romania Lei (ROL)

Russian currency : Russia Rubles (RUB)

Saudi Arabian currency : Saudi Arabia Riyals (SAR)

Senegalese currency : CFA Franc (XOF)

Seychelles currency : Seychellois Rupee (SYR)

Singapore currency : Singapore Dollars (SGD)

Slovakian currency : Slovakia Koruny (SKK)

Slovenian currency : Slovenia Tolars (SIT)

South Korean currency : South Korea Won (KRW)

Spanish currency : Euros (EUR) formerly Spain Pesetas (ESP)

Sri Lankan currency : Sri Lanka Rupees (LKR)

Sudanese currency : Sudan Dinars (SDD)

Swedish currency : Sweden Kronor (SEK)

Swiss currency : Switzerland Francs (CHF)

Tahitian currency : French Pacific Franc (XPF)

Taiwanese currency : Taiwan New Dollars (TWD)

Thai currency : Thailand Baht (THB)

Trinidad and Tobago currency :  Trinidad and Tobago Dollars (TTD)

Tunisian currency : Tunisia Dinars (TND)

Turkish currency : Turkey New Lira (TRY)

United Arab Emirates currency :  United Arab Emirates Dirhams (AED)

Venezuelan currency : Venezuela Bolivares (VEB)

Vietnamese currency : Vietnam Dong (VND)

Zambian currency : Zambia Kwacha (ZMK)

Zimbabwean currency : Zimbabwe Dollar (ZWD) 

Did you enjoy that? Why not share this article