RAC Car Insurance Reviews

Provider Customer Reviews
9 review(s)
  • Updated: Periodically. Details correct at the time of publication – March, 2010.

    As the driving people, RAC know you want to be sure you're getting a good deal on your car insurance.

    The RAC may be more renowned for its breakdown service, but it has established itself as one of the UK's leading car insurance companies. Its ambition is to use its years of motoring expertise to offer you the best car insurance cover available at the lowest price.

    For extra peace of mind our comprehensive insurance includes:
    3-year guarantee on approved claim repairs
    Windscreen replacement
    Personal accident cover
    New car replacement if yours is under 1 year old and is written off

    Winner of 'Best Overall Vehicle Insurance Provider' at the Personal Finance Awards 2009/10.

Overall Ratings

These average ratings represent customer ratings for the displayed provider, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Provider Ratings

Claims

Reviews

Terrible Service and Automatons in Call centre

Added 07/02/2012, reviewed by anonymous (Dorking)

Provider Ratings

I insured a second car as a run around, and declared a previous claim but git the date wrong (Nov 2009 rather than April 2010). Because of the wrong date, the RAC debited an additional premium of 150% of the original premium. Can't get any satisfaction from the call centre, each time I get a different story and there's no way to speak to anyone with authority. I have spoken to the compaints department, very polite but no action. All a bit of a joke.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Write Your Own Review

Spectacularly negligent don't use RAC!

Added 01/02/2012, reviewed by anonymous (Carnforth)

Provider Ratings

Despite numerous complaints the RAC did not enter my details on the motor insurance database after 6 months of taking an insurance policy with themwhich resulted in me recieving a penalty and having to attend the DVLA, I made numerous complaints to the customer service team(at my expense again) to no effect I found them totally uncaring and incompetent and despite asking to speak to a manager/ team leader could never be connected.
The RAC do not care about their customer at all so avoid at all costs, I am STILL awaiting a response/apology for all the distress and expense I have endured....and STILL not registered on the MID!!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Write Your Own Review

Don't trust them !

Added 22/09/2011, reviewed by anonymous (Newcastle)

Provider Ratings

No problems with the first year of cover. However, when the renewal notice arrived they were over £100 more than many others. As a result I arranged cover elsewhere and contacted RAC customer services to advise them. Then, two days after the old policy had expired, they took the renewal premium off my debit card (nearly £500). When I rang to complain they basically told me I was lying and had not informed them that I was not renewing. It took over two weeks, numerous phone calls and faxes before they finally agreed that they owed me a refund. It was then another week before the funds arrived. If you do ever make the mistake of dealing with these people take the full name of the person you speak to and record the time and date too as otherwise they will just accuse you of lying.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Write Your Own Review

Avoid at all costs. Worst customer support in UK

Added 16/06/2011, reviewed by anonymous (Chertsey)

Provider Ratings

Hi all just want to pass on my terrible experience with the RAC car insurance and their extremely poor customer services. My mother bought a car insurance with the RAC in April 2010, payment was set by direct debit, sadly my mother passed away in July 2010 and I informed the RAC and requested they cancel the insurance/direct debit.
This year March 2011 we received a renewal letter from the RAC for her car insurance, I was shocked to say the least, I have spent 2 months talking to their customer services trying to get a refund for the money they had continued taking via direct debit and to date still trying. They stated the reason for not cancelling the direct debit was because they hadn't received a death certificate or insurance policy. They now admit miss filling these. AVOID!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Write Your Own Review

GOOD SERVICE BY REP ON PHONE

Added 06/04/2011, reviewed by anonymous (HUDDERSFIELD)

Provider Ratings

Lady who answered the phone counded confident and assured. pleasant to speak with. she said they were going to charge me a 17 pounds fee for amending the policy 48 hrs after taking it out, as i needed to change the number plate to my private plate, once dealership confirmed plate paperwork ok, and could collect the car. when i said i had asked on taking out the policy whether they would charge me for policy amends, and I was told they wouldn't. the rep went off the phone to speak with supervisor, and came back and said they would honour what was said previously and would not charge the amendment fee after all. So, in the end everything Ok. so far, so good..... 6.14.11.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Write Your Own Review


Page:First« Previous
12
Next »Last

Write a review for

Personal Details

Provider Rating

Click the bar to rate your provider for each of the following categories.

Your Review

 

Questions marked with * are required