home
in

No Claims Discount

Last post Mon, Mar 03 2008, 8:41 PM by RED ARMY. 8 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  Mon, Mar 03 2008, 8:41 PM

Re: No Claims Discount

Yes augi i work in insurance and have done so for over 4 years.

Insurers have to put the car first as its called car insurance so thats the first thing they think about it,

If it was called personal driving insurance then you would have a point.

• Post Points: 5
  •  Mon, Mar 03 2008, 12:30 PM

RED ARMY - Honestly, do you work for an insurance company?

I still cannot see the point of putting the car first since it's age and mileage etc are reflected in the premium.

• Post Points: 20
  •  Fri, Nov 02 2007, 3:56 PM

SHARK YOU KNOW ME TOO WELL!!..LOL

when i mean starting from scratch i only ever meant the ncd side of things,when the customer has had 10 years of driving experiance and is still using the ncd on the other,i never said that shouldnt be taken into account.

im some ways the insurers could do better around this,if the car is of similar group rating then maybe we should allow ncd to duplicate onot the second car(im sure some companys do this already).

i still believe from a business point of view that the main focus of risk is the car in question,ive seen plenty of cases where customers who have driven ford mondeos or ford fiestas all their lifes,get a mazda mx5 or a bmw 3 series and expect to get second car discount..why if they no previous history of driving that sort of car.

car comes first,driving ability second .

• Post Points: 26
  •  Fri, Nov 02 2007, 3:36 PM

Hi DavidG and welcome to the forum - if a little belatedly ...

The insurance racket is a little difficult for anyone with a modicum of logic to follow and I have to agree with many who believe that NCD is NCD and should be driver-related and not vehicle-related (watch RED ARMY jump at this one).