home
in

Loan to pay off Overdraft?

Last post Tue, May 04 2010, 5:04 PM by Kash_knows_it_all. 3 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  Tue, May 04 2010, 5:04 PM

Re: Loan to pay off Overdraft?

Get yourself if possible a Virgin or MBNA credit card and do a cash transfer which will have a 4% fee. Once the cash is transferred you will have 12 months where you dont have to pay any interest and just pay minimum £25 a month. If you have not cleared your balance within this time then apply for another 12 months interest free card and do a balance transfer.

For example doing a cash transfer of £1000 will cost you £40 for 12 months. Then if you do a balance transfer after the 12 months then the one off fee will be from 2 to 3%.

• Post Points: 5
  •  Mon, Apr 19 2010, 9:24 PM

Thanks for the reply. The problem is i work a 9-5 (often longer) job and I'm also studying for a professional qualification so i am in college every other weekend and need to study the rest. I've got no doubt i can work my way out of it but it will take time and i'm nervous about being so far in my overdraft with so much going out - doesnt leave me much room for emergencies.

I'm still ummming and ahhhing about it.

• Post Points: 5
  •  Mon, Apr 19 2010, 10:16 AM

Hagi,

in my opinion borrowing for luxuries (ie non necessities) especially on your wage is not a good move.

you say you live at home - why not try and get a second/third job and go flat out to save. that way you wont have to apply for more credit, still got to the stage do etc and the wedding. plus on the upside you wont have the change to spend money if you are working and you can reduce your over draft.

• Post Points: 20
  •  Sun, Apr 18 2010, 9:24 PM

Loan to pay off Overdraft?

Hi all, I need some advice.