home
in

First time buyer Mortgage help

Last post Thu, Mar 15 2012, 10:00 AM by Zeb. 2 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  Thu, Mar 15 2012, 10:00 AM

Re: First time buyer Mortgage help

My opinion differs quite a bit to Maxsteam on this issue but this could be because I am a mortgage broker myself.

To save another 5% deposit could take several years depending on the house and the area you are living in and once you have saved the 5% you may even need to save this again if the house prices have risen. You are on a road to nowhere if this happens. Your landlord / friend may want to sell now or may not offer you the same deal or discount again. if you are able to buy now i would certainly do so. To wait another year or two will almost certainly cost you with rising house prices...albeit only 1% - 2%. I would look to buy now!

I do agree to speak to a local mortgage adviser to see what he suggests but I would also get in contact with some local housing associations, they often have plans and shared equity schemes whereby they will buy the whole house and then you will then buy a portion of this back from them (up to you how much, normally max purchase of 90%) and you will then rent the remaining portion from the housing association.

I know that Maxsteam is not a fan of this kind of scheme but I am as I feel that for many many people this is the only way they are going to be able to get a foot on the property ladder. It can be done at reduced cost and reduced deposit levels.