home
in

Fed up of dithering!

Last post Wed, Feb 22 2012, 10:03 AM by sillerha. 3 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  Wed, Feb 22 2012, 10:03 AM

Re: Fed up of dithering!

Hello all,

I am in a similar situation to phil0080 with around £8k on 0% cards. I am considering a loan (6% over 5 years £144 a month) which could could clear it all. Assuming I was disciplined then and didn't use the credit cards I know I would be clear in 5 years. Transferring the balances adds up overtime and I don't seem to be getting the debt total down.
    It would be £1100 in interest but I have been transferring balances for a few years now so have already spent a few hundred on that.

Any advice folks?

Thanks in advance.
    • Post Points: 5
  •  Mon, Feb 20 2012, 11:01 PM

Hi

Thanks for the useful information.

I can say without doubt I would not want another credit card
    again. At the moment I'm paying minimum payments on all three credit cards and the one with the highest apr is the virgin credit card where I'm paying alot more then 19.9 apr on interest.( I will confirm apr in full for each card tomorrow)

I have had them for a number of years and want to try and get a grip of my debts.

My thoughts behind the loan were that I can have a clear goal that in 5 years I will be debt free and consolidating the loan would help with the mind over matter side of things knowing that three debts have become one.

It makes me feel a bit sick that there are 6-7% apr loans on the high street but if I'm refused one my credit score will be damaged which would leave me back to square one and it's a bit of a gamble
    • Post Points: 5
  •  Mon, Feb 20 2012, 10:18 PM