home
in

Fake loan advice

Last post Mon, Oct 26 2009, 11:11 AM by fake loans. 150 replies.
Page 1 of 11 (151 items)   1 2 3 4 5 Next > ... Last »
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  Thu, May 08 2008, 10:49 AM

    Fake loan advice

    Hi,


    I applied for a loan through a loan comparison site. They rang me back and put me through to "The Loan People" who then approved my loan.

    A couple of days later I recieved the paperwork which I duely signed and returned, along with the admin fee. It all seemed genuine at the time, there was nothing to make me believe that the loan company was fake.

    The letter said I should expect the funds to come through within five working days, but I sent the paperwork back nearly two weeks ago, and the admin fee has been taken from my current account. I have tried emailing them with no response, I have tried phoning them and it just rings and rings. Also, I did a bit of research and their website doesn't show up in any of the search engines, even if you enter the URL.


    Is this company fake? and what do I do from here?


    Thanks

    • Post Points: 110
  •  Thu, May 08 2008, 3:13 PM

    Re: Fake loan advice

    What was the address that you sent the froms back to? Many loan companies have fronting names and are hide to find. I found theloanpeople.org, is this site familiar??
    Regards

    Ian
    • Post Points: 20
  •  Thu, May 08 2008, 3:22 PM

    Re: Fake loan advice

    Hi,

    thanks for the reply!


    I sent the forms back to:


    The Loan People
    First Floor, Front Office
    3 Waterloo Road
    Stockport
    SK1 3BD

    I sent them in the self addressed envelope that came with them.

    Their actual website is www.the-loan-people.co.uk

    I too came across www.theloanpeople.org when I was looking for their site in google.



    • Post Points: 35
  •  Thu, May 08 2008, 3:35 PM

    Re: Fake loan advice

    The address is for a mortgage company and they probably front the loan company.

    http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&q=++++waterloo+road+SK1+3BD&btnG=Search&meta=cr%3DcountryUK%7CcountryGB

    Too may companies use this address might be worth checking this out with FSA???


    Regards

    Ian
    • Post Points: 20
  •  Thu, May 08 2008, 3:49 PM

    Re: Fake loan advice

    Hi again,

    I put the company's reference number into FSA's website and the company are not on the FSA's register.

    • Post Points: 20
  •  Thu, May 08 2008, 3:56 PM

    Re: Fake loan advice

    Hi....many companies can use different names but must be an authorised alias of the parent company. See if any of the mortgage brokers listed on the link have trading names listed in the FSA register??


    Regards

    Ian
    • Post Points: 20
  •  Thu, May 08 2008, 4:02 PM

    Re: Fake loan advice

    I found that strawberry studios is also called Mortgage Sense and they are on the FSA's register

    • Post Points: 20
  •  Thu, May 08 2008, 4:08 PM

    Re: Fake loan advice

    Not the same company though, you can have the same name unless the company is a registered entity. I would call Mortgage Sense in Stockport and cause a fuss :)
    Regards

    Ian
    • Post Points: 20
  •  Thu, May 08 2008, 4:11 PM

    Re: Fake loan advice

    that was my thinking too. Thanks for your help, will let you know how I get on.
    • Post Points: 20
  •  Mon, May 19 2008, 3:10 PM

    Re: Fake loan advice

    HI,

    I have also just sent my paperwork and payment to the loan people. this situation is really starting to bring concern so please let me know the outcome.

    Thanks

    • Post Points: 20
  •  Tue, May 20 2008, 9:19 AM

    Re: Fake loan advice

    Hi, don't worry they aren't fake after all. Though they are very hard to get in touch with. They never responded to any of my emails. It took them over two weeks to send me a letter informing me of the outcome as well.
    • Post Points: 35
  •  Tue, May 20 2008, 7:31 PM

    Re: Fake loan advice

    GR_08:Hi, don't worry they aren't fake after all. Though they are very hard to get in touch with. They never responded to any of my emails. It took them over two weeks to send me a letter informing me of the outcome as well.

    What was your outcome, i am recieveing forms from them tomorrow and don't want to be sending them off if i dont have a chance of acquireing the amount i have agreed with them.


    PM me if you can on here, if not then please reply.


    thankyou : )

    • Post Points: 5
  •  Tue, May 20 2008, 9:24 PM

    Re: Fake loan advice

    When i say outcome i also mean have you recieved your monies and such ?

    I am a bit wary of the whole thing to be honest.

    • Post Points: 20
  •  Sun, Aug 17 2008, 7:13 PM

    Re: Fake loan advice

    can anyone tell me out come of this as i was thinking of going to apply for a loan with this company but now i don't know what to do. thanks
    • Post Points: 35
  •  Sun, Aug 17 2008, 10:24 PM

    Re: Fake loan advice

    Tell us the blody comparation site so I could speak with them. I will be happy to make an enquiry.

    Eugen

    • Post Points: 20
Page 1 of 11 (151 items)   1 2 3 4 5 Next > ... Last »