home
in

Has anyone heard of Cardata?

Last post Mon, May 04 2009, 4:25 PM by pip9. 6 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  Tue, Aug 19 2008, 2:25 PM

    Has anyone heard of Cardata?

    I put my car on autotrader - and cardata have called me asking for £100.00 to advertise my vehicle - they say they can guarantee its sale and the return of my deposit!!!!! Ive read however that they have been feature on watchdog? anyone any advice?
    • Post Points: 65
  •  Tue, Aug 19 2008, 2:34 PM

    Re: Has anyone heard of Cardata?

    Please Paul be a superhero today.... and do not risk parting with your hard earned cash, any sites that have to canvass touting for trade in this way, are not to be trusted. !

    Only advertise it through well known trusted and reputable sources.

    Tell them you're only willing to try them if they secure a sale of your car first with no fee, then bill you later once the car has been sold. !!!

    If they are that confident about keeping their words of guarantee & finding you a buyer, they should jump at your offer......Shouldn't they. ???

    • Post Points: 5
  •  Tue, Aug 19 2008, 2:41 PM

    Re: Has anyone heard of Cardata?

    SHP - Hi,

    Never heard of them but I suspect it's a similar operation to the one featured in this old thread...

    http://www.moneysupermarket.com/community/forums/t/vehicle-wise-any-advice-on-how-to-sell-my-car-10057.aspx

    My advice, avoid...

    JJ


    You gotta tie yourself to the mast my friend, and the storm will end.
    • Post Points: 5
  •  Thu, Sep 04 2008, 6:42 PM

    Re: Has anyone heard of Cardata?

    Look at their website www.cardata.co.uk the full terms and conditions are there, they advertise the vehicle until sold for 1 fee and they say they will refund the fee if the buyer takes finance through their service.

    Its a free service if you are looking to buy a vehicle and you'll be sent details by email or post.

    They have been going for over 25 years - that's longer than autotrader!!!

    • Post Points: 20
  •  Mon, May 04 2009, 2:31 PM

    Re: Has anyone heard of Cardata?

    PLEASE DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY!! I have been stung by them. Gave them £89 of my hard earned cash with promises that my car will be sold and its all lies. You do not get your money back and they often take out more money without your consent. Do not waste your money on this awful, misleading company. THEY MUST BE EXPOSED!!

    • Post Points: 20
  •  Mon, May 04 2009, 3:36 PM

    Re: Has anyone heard of Cardata?

    There are people working on commission who will trawl through classified ads for cars, vans, etc., for phone numbers. They will call up and promise all sorts of guarantees just to get their commission.

    You should not part with money to a company that you've never heard of (however long the scam has been going) on the basis of no more than a single phone call.

    I've found our local paper to be quicker but more expensive than autotrader.co.uk but, if you've not heard of someone, they can hardly be very good at getting the details to buyers, can they?

    • Post Points: 5
  •  Mon, May 04 2009, 4:25 PM

    Re: Has anyone heard of Cardata?

    Why not just try your local shop and put an advert up for a week or two, costs less.
    • Post Points: 5