Utilita Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews
Utilita

65 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

Our Expert Says...

Utilita is an independent Gas and Electricity supplier who specialise in prepayment energy through the use of modern Smart Meters.

Utilita is a gas and electricity supplier, solely focused on the needs of the prepayment market. They have been installing 'Pay-As-You-Go' smart meters for over 10 years, and they are pretty pleased about that. Utilita strive to maintain their competitively priced Smart Energy tariff against the Big Six, and continually develop their prepayment service and technology to meet the very real needs of prepayment customers. Utilita work to tackle fuel poverty head-on and recognise the shortcomings of the antiquated pre-pay energy system, but also the potential it has to alleviate the stresses of those experiencing fuel poverty. Established in 2003, they broke into a tough market with the intention of making a difference to the way pre-pay energy is supplied. Utilita work hard to continually improve the service they provide, making certain they fulfil our customers' needs, enabling people to 'pre-pay the smart way'.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

Avoid - waiting for refund for 5 months

Added 11/03/2013, reviewed by anonymous (Rustington)

Supplier Ratings

Firstly when we moved in they billed both us and the previous tennants for gas / electricity and no one would ever have know if we didn't know the previous owners well. A number of mistakes by them on the Direct Debits lead to them pulling large lumps out in access of £700 without notice. We cancelled over 4 months ago and they have still not refunded £400 of over payments.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Saving £5 a week just on Electricity.

Added 04/03/2013, reviewed by Steve (Chorley)

Supplier Ratings

Took 2 months to get smart meter installed, e mailed them a couple of times wondering how long it takes to switch, was not happy that never got a reply, was going to leave even before they had installed the meter. So glad I did not, little unit in my kitchen informs me of how much I am using each day, can top up online at home which is great, got free £5 on meter when installed, and to top it off, cannot beleive that we are now using about £13 a week electric when with previous prepayment meter with Ebico was putting around £18 a week in, what a saving that is, though I have a feeling we were being ripped off with the previous supplier, as when we topped up it always seemed to take about 40p off the balance, but no complaints at all......yet.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Best advice? Stay away!!

Added 23/02/2013, reviewed by Mark Ashton (Killingworth)

Supplier Ratings

Joined Utilita in August 2012 after a salesman came to my door, sounded great and signed up, received information pack about a week later advising me that I would be contacted shortly about a installation date for my new smart meters. September came, nothing had been heard so I contacted Utilita, I explained why I was ringing and was advised my application had been lost, went through all the information again and another week passed, received my welcome pack, then NOTHING again until I rang the team again in November, received another apology and this time I was given an installation date for between 1pm and 5pm, received a call on the installation date at 3:50pm that they weren't coming, it's now February and still nothing, I have now cancelled my contract and went back to old supplier.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Happy as Larry!!

Added 06/02/2013, reviewed by David (Gateshead)

Supplier Ratings

Changed about two months ago and was a little dubious to start with as no change when my key and card came. Had been told the benefits would show when the meters were fitted. Never a truer word was spoken. ot smart meter fitted 2 weeks ago and it is great. No more folding myself into the cupboard. And prices are superb now. Have topped up almost 10 pounds less each of the weeks since these were fitted. Thoroughly recomended!!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

can`t belive this company is still runni

Added 03/02/2013, reviewed by anonymous (high wycombe)

Supplier Ratings

This company never fitted the meter, i know about 10 people who live near me allso never had there meter fitted. The sales man comes round promis this system which sounds really good but your lucky to get it .The customer service just to rude.By the way if you do get your meter fitted the credit dose not go on like there say,often you will to tap in a 16 digit number and there price for energy is middle of the road not the cheapest as they claim.KEEP AWAY IF I WAS YOU FROM THIS COMPANY.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Utilita - Price Change Indicator

See when Utilita changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
Smart Energy and Premium Energy Price Decrease Price Decrease 01/01/2016 01/01/2016 More Details
Smart Energy no change no change 01/10/2015 01/10/2015 More Details
Premium Energy no change no change 01/10/2015 01/10/2015 More Details
Smart Energy 5.6% Price Decrease Price Decrease 02/03/2015 02/03/2015 More Details
Standard 5.6% Price Decrease Price Decrease 02/03/2015 02/03/2015 More Details
Smart Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/01/2015 01/01/2015 More Details
Smart Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/07/2014 09/07/2014 More Details
Various no change no change 05/03/2014 05/03/2014 More Details
All Products 15% Price Increase 15% Price Increase 18/01/2008 18/01/2008 More Details
All Products Price Increase Price Increase 01/09/2007 01/09/2007 More Details