SSE Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

6 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

Our Expert Says...

SSE's Fair Pricing Policy means they will hold off putting up energy prices for as long as possible and will try to bring them down as quickly as possible.

SSE is a FTSE 100 company and one of the largest integrated electricity and gas companies in the UK. Incorporating the supply businesses of Scottish Hydro, Southern Electric, SWALEC, Atlantic, SSE and Airtricity they supply over 9.5 million customers throughout Scotland, England, Wales and Ireland. SSE is a full service energy provider with more than 50 years of experience in the generation, transmission, distribution and supply of energy.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

Utter nightmare

Added 23/04/2013, reviewed by Phil (McBride)

Supplier Ratings

Got into debt with these guys when I got cancer and had to give up work. They told me they could put meters in and I would be able to manage finances better which should work out in actually saving me money. Sounds good, but they added some hidden charges onto the meters, effectively overcharging me around £800! I've asked for statements and justification for these extra charges but they refuse to send them or provide an explanation. Not only this, but they keep increasing the debt repayment charge - despite me telling them I cannot afford it do to being off-work as a result of my illness. Evil is a word I would use to describe this company.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Awful customer service

Added 19/04/2013, reviewed by MS (Basingstoke)

Supplier Ratings

I've been with this supplier for some 12 years. Based upon their Service Promise that they will always direct me to their cheapest tariff when I phone them requesting assistance or will pay £20. I trusted them and did not check. Big mistake. SSE, without my OK put on a tariff that was the most expensive. They failed to answer their phone, sometimes for hours and when they said they will call back, failed to do so. My DD was messed up by them and they than demanded a completely unreasonable amount. This is an organisation that is only interested in profits, probably to recover the 10.5 million fine for ripping customers. If you are looking for fair tariffs, good customer service, staff you can trust - look elsewhere.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

WARNING!! SSE, the meanicing supplier

Added 03/04/2013, reviewed by anonymous (shariff)

Supplier Ratings

Recently, SSE walloped me with a massively inflated bill . Having been with them for almost 2 years i was shocked. I had always paid my bills on time and in full, and the bills were based upon meter readings that they (or their agents) had taken at my house. It transpires that even though they had been taking *actual* meter readings at my house, that they had been estimating the bills for the last year and a half, and now they were insisting that i clear off the whole debt. I found their attitude to be helpful at times but in the main they seemed not to be interested in what i thought were fair proposals to clear the outstanding debt (which in fairness was due to their incompetence) i want to clear the balance, but they insist that i do it to their chosen timetable. and methods..

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

BIlled but never supplied!!

Added 18/04/2012, reviewed by anonymous (Bradford)

Supplier Ratings

SSE never had an account for us or even for the people before us. The registered account for the new home was with another company entirely when we queried it the day we moved in. They still sent a debt collector to the door and billed us £741 for a month's electricity with a ten day payment notice. The meter readings were also 500000 out!! Ridiculous. Very keen to extract money from whoever they can. They were hassling us for contact details for previous tenants and the letting agencies details. Not impressed at this conduct.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

No problems to report

Added 26/11/2011, reviewed by anonymous (Leamington Spa)

Supplier Ratings

Just switched and the switch was seamless on SSE's part though my previously supplier were less than helpful. Paying by direct debit and as of yet there have been no problems.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.


Page:First« Previous
12
Next »Last

SSE - Price Change Indicator

See when SSE changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
Various Price Decrease Price Decrease 16/06/2014 16/06/2014 More Details
Discount Bonus Apr 15 Price Decrease Price Decrease 01/04/2014 01/04/2014 More Details
Various Price Decrease Price Decrease 12/03/2014 12/03/2014 More Details
1 Year Fixed Price New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/01/2014 31/01/2014 More Details
Fixed Price Mar 17 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/02/2014 31/01/2014 More Details
All tariffs 8.2% Price Increase 8.2% Price Increase 01/11/2013 15/11/2013 More Details
2 Year Fixed Price New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 11/10/2013 More Details
1 yr Fixed Price Plan (All brands) New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/07/2013 15/07/2013 More Details
Discount Energy Bonus Oct 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/03/2013 25/03/2013 More Details
Discount Energy Bonus May 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/02/2013 25/02/2013 More Details
Discount Energy Bonus April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/01/2013 17/01/2013 More Details
Discounted Energy April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/01/2013 08/01/2013 More Details
All tariffs 9% Price Increase 9% Price Increase 15/10/2012 15/10/2012 More Details
2yr Fixed Price Plan 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/04/2012 20/04/2012 More Details
oplan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/04/2012 20/04/2012 More Details
Various tariffs 4.5% Price Decrease Price Decrease 26/03/2012 26/03/2012 More Details