SSE SWALEC Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

37 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

Our Expert Says...

SSE's Fair Pricing Policy means they will hold off putting up energy prices for as long as possible and will try to bring them down as quickly as possible.

SSE SWALEC is a trading name of SSE Energy Supply Limited and Southern Electric Gas Limited (both members of the SSE Group). Along with their other energy brands SSE Southern Electric/SSE Scottish Hydro/SSE Atlantic/SSE/SSE Airtricity, SSE SWALEC serves customer accounts across England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland. SSE plc is one of the UK’s leading energy companies, involved in the generation, distribution and supply of electricity and in the extraction, storage, distribution and supply of gas. SSE is a trading name of SSE Energy Supply Limited and Southern Electric Gas Limited (both members of the SSE Group). They supply energy to around 8.58 million customer accounts throughout Great Britain and Ireland.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

Wish I had never had the displeasure!

Added 12/11/2013, reviewed by anonymous (Chepstow)

Supplier Ratings

I just wanted to let everyone know what kind of company SWALEC really are. Due to THIER mistake, they undercharged us by £1049.80, & have now billed us for this amount. Not only is the above stressful enough, but me & my husband are expecting our first child as I am 9 months & 2 weeks pregnant, & my husband has just been made redundant, & we are 1 month & 5 days away from being made homeless as the house we are in came with the job. So thank you SWALEC for being incompetent, rude & condesending, give youselves a big pat on the back for nearly givingg me a nervous breakdown! We were lucky that we had been saving hard, however the full £1000.00 was paid to them today. Oh but I should add according to them, this is fine, as they said sorry in their letter!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

100% Service all respects

Added 26/04/2013, reviewed by Ted (Fishguard)

Supplier Ratings

Excellent in all respects. No problems to date. Central htg needed fixing New Years Eve. Engineer arrived 10 am New Years Day. Fixed !!!! Needs I say more.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

a bit more expensive but worth it !

Added 02/12/2012, reviewed by carl (port talbot)

Supplier Ratings

i really do find them faultless fab customer service better than most otheers ive had over the years some bits of the bill is a little hard to understand at fist but you learn after a while and being disabled they cant do enough for mebut so worth it for the service ans i like them that much they now even supply my homephone too which is also fabulous and the tec help is faultless so worth the extra coupl of pounds per 3 months

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Good Company

Added 03/10/2012, reviewed by anonymous (Barry)

Supplier Ratings

We have been with SWALEC for several years now, after changing from British Gas. SWALEC have been so much better than BG. However, unfortunately we are now changing to E.ON on a fixed tarriff for one year as it will save us about £270 in the first year. We would have gladly stayed with SWALEC if they could have come close to matching E.ONs charge.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Consending Customer Service

Added 21/07/2012, reviewed by anonymous (London)

Supplier Ratings

I have been caught out by estimated bills. Fair enough. What's not fair is the fact that my estimated bills were appallingly low vs average usage and one reading I have provided online 'has not been registered' anywhere. When my final catch up bill came out, it was near triple what I paid in total estimated bills. Wholly expensive service with no visibility while I was using it. When I called in, I was partially aware, there wasn't any way I was going to get help but wanted to give more of a feedback that they could start you with a high estimated bill reflecting the expensive service they are giving. Instead, I got a condensing complaint manager who lectured me on how to make note of every detail I entered online and call to make sure it's in. Thanks for that. Will never use again.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.


Page:First« PreviousNext »Last

SSE SWALEC - Price Change Indicator

See when SSE SWALEC changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
SSE 3 Year Fixed Price v2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/06/2016 22/06/2016 More Details
SSE 1 Year Fixed v7 and paperless version New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/05/2016 05/05/2016 More Details
SSE 2 Year Fix & Shop v2 and paperless version New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/04/2016 20/04/2016 More Details
SSE 1 Year Fixed v6 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/04/2016 06/04/2016 More Details
Standard 5.3% Price Decrease Price Decrease 29/03/2016 29/03/2016 More Details
Standard PAYG 5.3% Price Decrease Price Decrease 29/03/2016 29/03/2016 More Details
SSE 1 Year Fixed v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/02/2016 17/02/2016 More Details
SSE 1 Year Fixed v4 and Paper billing version New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/01/2016 21/01/2016 More Details
SSE 1 Year Fixed v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/11/2015 25/11/2015 More Details
SSE 2 Year Fix & Shop New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/09/2015 30/09/2015 More Details
SSE 1 Year Fixed v2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/09/2015 30/09/2015 More Details
SSE 1 Year Fixed New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/07/2015 09/07/2015 More Details
Standard Pay As You Go 4.1% Price Decrease Price Decrease 14/05/2015 30/04/2015 More Details
Standard 4.1% Price Decrease Price Decrease 14/05/2015 30/04/2015 More Details
SSE 3 Year Fixed Price and Paperless Billing New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/03/2015 16/03/2015 More Details
Fix & Shop Feb 17 and paperless New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 19/02/2015 19/02/2015 More Details
Fix & Shop Nov 16 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/11/2014 20/11/2014 More Details
SSE Direct New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/10/2014 02/10/2014 More Details
Various Price Decrease Price Decrease 16/06/2014 16/06/2014 More Details
Various Price Decrease Price Decrease 24/04/2014 24/04/2014 More Details
1 Year Fixed Price no change no change 31/01/2014 31/01/2014 More Details
Fixed Price Mar 17 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/01/2014 31/01/2014 More Details
All tariffs 8.2% Price Increase 8.2% Price Increase 01/11/2013 15/11/2013 More Details
2 Year Fixed Price New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 11/10/2013 More Details
All tariffs 9% Price Increase 9% Price Increase 15/10/2012 15/10/2012 More Details
Fixed Price Plan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2011 01/11/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs 18% Price Increase 11% Price Increase 25/07/2011 25/07/2011 More Details
Price Fix 7 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/07/2011 25/07/2011 More Details
Fixed Discount January 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/07/2011 25/07/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs Gas Rates 9.4% Price Increase Price Increase 02/11/2010 01/12/2010 More Details
Price Fix 5 March 2012 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/09/2010 15/09/2010 More Details
betterplan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/07/2010 15/07/2010 More Details
betterplan no standing charge New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/07/2010 15/07/2010 More Details
Various electricity rates Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/04/2010 08/04/2010 More Details
Go Direct 4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/03/2010 31/03/2010 More Details
All Tariffs Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/03/2010 04/03/2010 More Details
Go Direct 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/10/2009 27/10/2009 More Details
Go Direct Price Decrease Price Decrease 23/09/2009 23/09/2009 More Details
Standard 4% Price Decrease 9% Price Decrease 06/03/2009 30/03/2009 More Details
All Products 29.2% Price Increase 19.2% Price Increase 21/08/2008 21/08/2008 More Details
Fixed Discount 2010 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/07/2008 07/07/2008 More Details
Standard 11.1% Price Increase 13.1% Price Increase 01/04/2008 01/04/2008 More Details
Better Plan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/11/2007 12/11/2007 More Details
Price Fix 2008 Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/10/2007 08/10/2007 More Details
Price Fix 2008 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/09/2007 28/09/2007 More Details
Standard Energy Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/08/2007 31/08/2007 More Details
All Products 12% Price Decrease 5.6% Price Decrease 01/03/2007 01/03/2007 More Details
All Products 12.2% Price Increase 9.4% Price Increase 29/09/2006 01/01/2007 More Details
All Products 16.5% Price Increase 9.4% Price Increase 01/05/2006 01/05/2006 More Details
All Products 13.6% Price Increase 11% Price Increase 01/01/2006 01/01/2006 More Details