Spark Energy Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews
Spark Energy

290 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

The new kid on the block, Spark Energy is aiming to become the alternative energy provider to the BIG 6 by offering "the best customer service, lower prices, innovative benefits and greener energy."

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

Shoddy Customer Service

Added 27/08/2013, reviewed by anonymous (London)

Supplier Ratings

Slow and unresponsive website. Inaccurate billing (bills only produced twice a year, no matter how many meter readings you provide) and reluctance to alter direct debit downwards to reflect your actual usage. Waiting times on the phone are often long. All dealings with them feel unclear - I never knew where we stood on bills, whether our account was in credit or debit, as they state in credit but then hadn't charged us for 6 months. Staff are helpful when you get through but not enough to save their reputation. Landlords get kick backs for placing their tenants with Spark and that's reflected in your bills.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Awful.

Added 22/08/2013, reviewed by anonymous (Pont)

Supplier Ratings

We were switched to spark energy by our estate agents without our knowledge or consent. Maybe that is legal but it doesn't seem right that someone can set up an account in your name without your knowledge. They have since been absolutely useless. We tried to switch to British gas, but as foxtons had set up our account with an incorrect serial number for a metre which does not exist, spark continued to insist that they were are energy supplier. We organised them to come round and check our metre, as they wouldn't believe us and waited on all day for them. They didn't turn up. We have paid them money and they have so far refused to refund us, even though they clearly have never been our official energy supplier. This has been going on for over 2 months and we are no closer to a solution.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Incompetent

Added 09/08/2013, reviewed by anonymous (London)

Supplier Ratings

I, too, have written to the Managing Director. This company made a sham of my handover from a rival company, won't return calls/emails/letters and owe me money (a three figure sum). I have been waiting on a resolution for over 8 months now.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Worst company I've ever dealt with.

Added 05/06/2013, reviewed by anonymous (Warrington)

Supplier Ratings

Spark energy has been the worst company I have ever had the misfortune of dealing with. 6 weeks after being with them I started having problems. I have had two complaints mishandled by them since last October. First with regards to a transfer I tried to do in Oct. and the 2nd for the outrageous tariff they were charging us. I finally conceded and paid them £900 for 3 months gas and electric (we are a couple, no children, in a 2 bed mid terrace). We started another transfer to EDF in March, its now gone through, but SPARK made this as difficult and drawn out as possible. Also, they have continued to take money from my account and now owe me over £1000 but no one can confirm how or when this will be refunded!! In fact they can't even agree on an exact amount! Wish I could score ZERO!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

disgraceful

Added 04/06/2013, reviewed by anonymous (St Helens)

Supplier Ratings

We moved into our new house last August and unfortunately we had to stay with spark energy until n power could take over.for the two months it took to sort this out spark energy charged us 300 for our gas and electricity.just to get shut of them we payed this in full and n power took over, hassle free. Never had a single problem with n power i May add. Then out the blue we have received a letter to say we owe them 600 pounds.. I've traced it back and there is an outstanding payments from the previous owner of our property of nearly 500 pounds. Spark energy are an absolute joke of a company.you can never get through for a kick off. How dare I get a letter demanding money 6 months after I have been with another company. Please avoid this company.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Spark Energy - Price Change Indicator

See when Spark Energy changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
PAYG Saver - Fixed August 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/03/2014 03/03/2014 More Details
Direct Debit Advance 4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/02/2014 20/02/2014 More Details
Advance 3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/12/2013 17/12/2013 More Details
Standard Plus 5 and Pay As You Go 3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/10/2013 01/10/2013 More Details
Spark Advance 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/09/2013 18/09/2013 More Details
Standard plus 4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/07/2012 04/07/2012 More Details
Tenant Direct New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/07/2012 04/07/2012 More Details
Pay As You Go 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/02/2012 02/02/2012 More Details
All Products Price Increase Price Increase 01/05/2008 01/05/2008 More Details