Spark Energy Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews
Spark Energy

290 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

The new kid on the block, Spark Energy is aiming to become the alternative energy provider to the BIG 6 by offering "the best customer service, lower prices, innovative benefits and greener energy."

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

NEVER AGAIN

Added 17/06/2014, reviewed by anonymous (london)

Supplier Ratings

Honestly the worst company I have ever dealt with. Loads of hidden charges. Awful customer service one person tells you one thing another person the opposite. I stayed with them 4 weeks before going back to my previous supplier. My final gas bill which was for a total of 8 days they tried to charge me £150!!!! Don't use them ever more hassle then they are worth!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

unclear bills, slow refunds - never agai

Added 15/11/2013, reviewed by anonymous (London)

Supplier Ratings

We used Spark Energy for one year as it had very competitive prices against other suppliers, but wish we never did so. After one year I still cannot understand their bills and even less their online account, especially when compared with those of other suppliers (I used EDF and British Gas in the past and both were much much clearer and easier to understand). We were massively overpaying for energy to the point that we had a £500 balance at the end of the year and they never advised us to reduce our monthly payments and now that I moved home and finally switched to another supplier it is taking 2 months to refund the money we overpaid. Just don't use them.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

left me with no gas for one week

Added 28/10/2013, reviewed by anonymous (accrington)

Supplier Ratings

i moved into a house where i had no gas on my meter it was in 38 pounds of debt i have to young children i called them for a new gas card what i didnt receive this as left me with no gas for over 1 week i called them to explan what was going on there said my card was lost in the post and there could no send anyone out to reset my meter because there was to busy i find it a utter discrace and there are not open over the weekends i wouldnt let anyone go with them awful customer service

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Atrocious Company

Added 24/10/2013, reviewed by anonymous (Oxford)

Supplier Ratings

Multiple attempts at getting a refund (£650) on account closure. Each time supposedly the same mistake happens - each time another 28 days. On each time the figure is different, sometimes more, sometimes less. I don't even think 1 out of 10 describes the incompetence of this company. They need a procedure that works not polite customer service representatives. At the end of the day politeness is useless if they cannot do their job! I would never ever recommend this company to anyone else - stick to companies with a good track record of customer service and reliability. I will be send a letter with all the information I have received in writing to the ombudsman.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Good price - useless service

Added 30/08/2013, reviewed by anonymous (Claverham)

Supplier Ratings

Do not be wooed by the price! it has taken me 3 1/2 months to arrive at a point where i am only being supplied electricity and not gas when i applied for both. Spark did not inform me of this and i had closed my previous account with British Gas (to whom i will be reverting) but they still took my money for both on the dirct debit. I have contacted them through their site - no reply - when i phoned today i received a lack lustre apology an no customer service. STAY AWAY!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Spark Energy - Price Change Indicator

See when Spark Energy changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
PAYG Saver - Fixed August 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/03/2014 03/03/2014 More Details
Direct Debit Advance 4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/02/2014 20/02/2014 More Details
Advance 3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/12/2013 17/12/2013 More Details
Standard Plus 5 and Pay As You Go 3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/10/2013 01/10/2013 More Details
Spark Advance 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/09/2013 18/09/2013 More Details
Standard plus 4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/07/2012 04/07/2012 More Details
Tenant Direct New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/07/2012 04/07/2012 More Details
Pay As You Go 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/02/2012 02/02/2012 More Details
All Products Price Increase Price Increase 01/05/2008 01/05/2008 More Details