Spark Energy Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews
Spark Energy

305 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

The new kid on the block, Spark Energy is aiming to become the alternative energy provider to the BIG 6 by offering "the best customer service, lower prices, innovative benefits and greener energy."

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

An absolute shambles from the beginning

Added 18/08/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Lingwood)

Supplier Ratings

We were signed up through Foxtons. First bill for approx. 6 weeks in a 2 person flat was over £1,600. A call to customer services had them asking for new readings, we did this twice & when they asked a third time I insisted they send someone to read it. It was rearranged once by them, then on the day nobody turned up & only after another call did they manage to get someone to come round. Throughout I was sent texts & emails threatening that my credit rating could be damaged if I did not pay. Each time I was told by someone else they would put my account on hold and never was this followed through on - finally this has been done. Readings were taken over a week and a half ago and yet they claim to still not to have them and hence still no new bill. This company is a joke but it isn't funny.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Always Excellent Customer Service

Added 18/08/2014, reviewed by Hayley (Crawcrook)

Supplier Ratings

Whenever I call or use online chat service - I always receive excellent service. The estimated bills can sometimes be a bit high but a quick call or chat with up to date meter readings sorts it all out immediately. Couldn't ask for anything more :)

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Dreadful. Stay well clear

Added 07/08/2014, reviewed by Emma (Exeter)

Supplier Ratings

Sadly as tenants we didn't have a choice who to have our accounts with, and we got lumbered with these bunch of jokers. despite telling them my name, I kept appearing as "tenant" so the bills weren't coming to me correctly, and I would get a late fee. Meter readings always wrong, and bills too high. If I hadn't been vigilant I would have paid too much. I then tried to get email alerts for new bills, but they never came. So once again I got late charges. Now, I get a bill saying we owe them a year's worth of electric, over £400 - they never even supplied our electric!! Outrageous.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Terrible Service at a Worst Price

Added 06/08/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Manchester)

Supplier Ratings

Couldnt supply a correct bill to save their lives, and when they do they are unclear and confusing. The billing system is a mess and when you try to talk to someone they are very rude and belittling. As for leaving the account was closed down after leaving the property, but bills kept coming after the closure even thought we were told in no uncertain terms you have zeroed the account and there is nothing else to do. Apparently not as due to there interesting way of billing payments for the final month and a half had not been credited, even though a final reading had been provided. But you couldnt tell that for the bills!!! Other utilities companies I have used have been able to use predictive billing to estimate a bill for each month, but spark badger you for a meter reading each month.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Appalling Service

Added 04/08/2014, reviewed by Siobhan (Bolton)

Supplier Ratings

Found an issue March 2013 with our account, tried dealing with it via the online chat, to no avail. Initial issue was that our bill was v.high - there was an "error" with our account. This was rectified, but bill still v.high, told that the direct debit was fine. Complained about this, nothing done. Later told Spark that this simply cannot be our bill , furthermore we found out that the meter apparently feeding our flat was not the correct one. Spark sent for an "onsite investigation" to find out which is our meter. Waited a month for this appointment, the engineer had no idea that he should have been conducting an onsite investigation. Complained to Spark, via letting agency and ourselves. General lack of interest from Spark. Dire company with dire customer relations.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.


Page:First« PreviousNext »Last

Spark Energy - Price Change Indicator

See when Spark Energy changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
PAYG Saver - Fixed August 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/03/2014 03/03/2014 More Details
Direct Debit Advance 4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/02/2014 20/02/2014 More Details
Advance 3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/12/2013 17/12/2013 More Details
Standard Plus 5 and Pay As You Go 3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/10/2013 01/10/2013 More Details
Spark Advance 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/09/2013 18/09/2013 More Details
Standard plus 4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/07/2012 04/07/2012 More Details
Tenant Direct New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/07/2012 04/07/2012 More Details
Pay As You Go 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/02/2012 02/02/2012 More Details
All Products Price Increase Price Increase 01/05/2008 01/05/2008 More Details