SSE Southern Electric Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

252 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

Our Expert Says...

SSE's Fair Pricing Policy means they will hold off putting up energy prices for as long as possible and will try to bring them down as quickly as possible.

SSE is a FTSE 100 company and one of the largest integrated electricity and gas companies in the UK. Incorporating the supply businesses of Scottish Hydro, Southern Electric, SWALEC, Atlantic, SSE and Airtricity they supply over 9.5 million customers throughout Scotland, England, Wales and Ireland. SSE is a full service energy provider with more than 50 years of experience in the generation, transmission, distribution and supply of energy.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

They didn't lie to me..

Added 08/04/2013, reviewed by anonymous (Laindon)

Supplier Ratings

I was offered a transfer to SSE via an M&S promotion. We discussed my current bills and I was told that I could save money with SSE. This was approximately 3 years ago. Not only have I saved on my monthly bills, but I have had a considerable overall save and refund from SSE every year since. Their readings are regular and accurate; their staff are polite. I think its a great shame that in the "sensational" reporting of this case, no one seems to want to point out that this mis-selling took place approximately 4 years ago (2009 I think) and has been addressed by the Company since that time. Also, has anyone been approached by n-power? No that's REAL hard selling. Hard, aggressive and rude was my experience of this company. I have nothing but praise for SSE/M&S.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Good customer service for peace of mind!

Added 23/08/2012, reviewed by anonymous (HALESOWEN)

Supplier Ratings

1) Customer Service - generally 5-10 minutes before answering on their 0800 (freephone ) line is not bad at all. I find the staff polite, pleasant and helpful. And if I should have to hang on the phone longer at least there is no charge. 2) Have been a customer for 4 years. I don't like the annual price hikes but all the energy companies do likewise. 3) If a bill is ocassionally estimated I ring in my own actual meter readings and get a revised bill within a few days. I prefer paper quarterly dual bills so I have a paper trail to refer to in case my pc breaks down. 4) I have considered changing supplier and maybe save £90 but this only lasts for 12months. 5) I now record my meter readings every week and phone these to SSE every 3 months so I know exactly how the cost will be.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Excellent rates + great customer service

Added 01/08/2012, reviewed by James (Wandsworth)

Supplier Ratings

We recently moved into a new business premises. Rather than putting us on high "emergency rates" as standard, SSE got us sorted straight away with an excellent contract rate (9.3p/unit). Meanwhile I was concerned about cold callers from Energy sharks trying to change our provider ("National Utilities" was a common one). Called SSE about these and they gave recommendations to deal with the bogus calls, and setup extra security on the account. All in all very impressed with customer service - calls are answered immediately, and everyone I have spoken to has been friendly and low on industry jargon.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Award winning customer service!! NOT!!!

Added 24/05/2012, reviewed by anonymous (Hastings)

Supplier Ratings

Been with southern electric for years!! Husband was made redundant and we applied for the winter discount payments that we were entitled to, sent all documents off THREE TIMES! constantly on the phone to them, was told that they had received all documents and discount would be applied to my account end of march time, middle of April called them as hadnt received... They told me I had to top my key up at the same pay point at least 6 times for them to send details to the pay point and credit my key!, Ring them up AGAIN to be told that they didn't have all the documents needed and that it was too late to receive entitlement. Disgusting customer service! Tell people what they want to hear, take avantage of there most vulnerable customers! Appalling service and company!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Dealing with claims department

Added 11/04/2012, reviewed by anonymous (Perth)

Supplier Ratings

As an insurance professional, I have spent 11 weeks dealing with their public liability department in Perth. I had to put into words the frustration I have had dealing with the department. Emails go unanswered, messgaes left are never replied to, letters and faxes are not reponded to. I really am at a loss as to how they can employ so many rude, lazy, disinterested people in one department. I have been left fuming after finally speaking to someone today who simply did not have a clue and did not really seem that bothered. SSE should be ashamed to employ staff like this.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

SSE Southern Electric - Price Change Indicator

See when SSE Southern Electric changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
SSE Direct New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/10/2014 02/10/2014 More Details
Various Price Decrease Price Decrease 16/06/2014 16/06/2014 More Details
Various Price Decrease Price Decrease 12/03/2014 12/03/2014 More Details
1 Year Fixed Price New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/01/2014 31/01/2014 More Details
Fixed Price Mar 17 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/01/2014 31/01/2014 More Details
All tariffs 8.2% Price Increase 8.2% Price Increase 01/11/2013 15/11/2013 More Details
2 Year Fixed Price New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 11/10/2013 More Details
All tariffs 9% Price Increase 9% Price Increase 15/10/2012 15/10/2012 More Details
Fixed Price Plan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2011 01/11/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs 18% Price Increase 11% Price Increase 25/07/2011 25/07/2011 More Details
Price Fix 7 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/07/2011 25/07/2011 More Details
Fixed Discount January 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/07/2011 25/07/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs Gas Rates 9.4% Price Increase Price Increase 02/11/2010 01/12/2010 More Details
Price Fix 5 March 2012 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/09/2010 15/09/2010 More Details
betterplan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/07/2010 15/07/2010 More Details
betterplan no standing charge New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/07/2010 15/07/2010 More Details
Various electricity rates Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/04/2010 08/04/2010 More Details
Go Direct 4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/03/2010 31/03/2010 More Details
All Tariffs Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/03/2010 04/03/2010 More Details
Go Direct 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/10/2009 27/10/2009 More Details
Go Direct Price Decrease Price Decrease 23/09/2009 23/09/2009 More Details
Standard 4% Price Decrease 9% Price Decrease 06/03/2009 30/03/2009 More Details
All Products 29.2% Price Increase 19.2% Price Increase 21/08/2008 21/08/2008 More Details
Fixed Discount 2010 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/07/2008 07/07/2008 More Details
Standard 11.1% Price Increase 13.1% Price Increase 01/04/2008 01/04/2008 More Details
Better Plan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/11/2007 12/11/2007 More Details
Price Fix 2008 Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/10/2007 08/10/2007 More Details
Price Fix 2008 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/09/2007 28/09/2007 More Details
Standard Energy Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/08/2007 31/08/2007 More Details
All Products 12% Price Decrease 5.6% Price Decrease 01/03/2007 01/03/2007 More Details
All Products 12.2% Price Increase 9.4% Price Increase 29/09/2006 01/01/2007 More Details
All Products 16.5% Price Increase 9.4% Price Increase 01/05/2006 01/05/2006 More Details
All Products 13.6% Price Increase 11% Price Increase 01/01/2006 01/01/2006 More Details