Southern Electric Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

249 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

Our Expert Says...

SSE's Fair Pricing Policy means they will hold off putting up energy prices for as long as possible and will try to bring them down as quickly as possible.

SSE is a FTSE 100 company and one of the largest integrated electricity and gas companies in the UK. Incorporating the supply businesses of Scottish Hydro, Southern Electric, SWALEC, Atlantic, SSE and Airtricity they supply over 9.5 million customers throughout Scotland, England, Wales and Ireland. SSE is a full service energy provider with more than 50 years of experience in the generation, transmission, distribution and supply of energy.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

Avoid them, better stay in cold & dark

Added 18/11/2013, reviewed by anonymous (london)

Supplier Ratings

Want to try it first hand. Just try to call their customer service number. These people are unreachable. Lost lots of money jst wating for them to answer and have to hang up every time(5 times) after wating around 15 mins

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Great Customer Service

Added 11/11/2013, reviewed by anonymous (kent)

Supplier Ratings

My mum who was suffering with dementia managed to sign herself to 3 companies for Gas and Elec because they were calling in the evening at her home and then getting her to sign up. It was a nightmare trying to sort it out. SE were brilliant in helping me, one of the other companies was very understanding too, EDF were awful and still sending mum bills and withholding money she was owed so in the end I threatened them with the ombudsman and it got sorted. SE arranged for a note to be made to stop the pm cold calling & were v helpful over the EDF situation too. I have both gas & elec with SE and mainly due to their great customer service + if you ask for info about your account they provide it. Price is obviously important but I am fed up with all these unhelpful call centers/CSDs.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Excellent company

Added 09/05/2013, reviewed by Pauline (High Bickington)

Supplier Ratings

I have been with this company for many years and they are based in the UK which makes it easier to communicate with you feel like they are talking to you and not just reading off a script – you understand them and they understand you. Their website is very easy to use and you get the correct and honest answers without the frustration. Their bills are easy to understand and problems are resolved very quickly and professionally. I cannot make it any clearer than that, you would be a fool to go with any other company, as simple as that really. The top of my list of requirements is GOOD customer services and this company delivery it by the bucket full. I would have no hesitation in recommending this company

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

In total shock....

Added 06/05/2013, reviewed by anonymous (Poole)

Supplier Ratings

Went with Southern Electric as my landlord insisted, being a first time renter I did not really know what I was looking for in a Gas/Electric company so was glad for some advise...wish I had not bothered. Have had nothing but problems, they have sent me bills for random amounts and when I started to query it they advised me that for 6 months (including winter months) I had not used ANY gas, despite using gas for my cooker, hot water etc. they then advised me that they would send someone to fix it, after realising its been like this for the 2 years I've been in my property, the day before the appointment they cancelled as it was a bank holiday and STILL the gas people have turned up to fix my meter this morning! Absolutely fuming that they KEEP messing me around.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Withholding an overpayment

Added 03/05/2013, reviewed by Chris (deVerenne)

Supplier Ratings

On 12th April I overpaid my electricity account by £21000.00 a simple matter of an extra zero when paying online. I notice almost at once and contacted the customer service desk who were at first very helpful. However it is now 3rd May and they still have my money. I was advised that they could not put the money straight back into my account even though they could see the over payment. Some 7 days later, I was advised that they could only send me cheque and that would take 5 days but it was being dealt with on that day. On 1st May I was telephoned by Southern and advised that they are refusing to reimburse me until I prove to them that the money came out of my bank account, to do this I must send them a copy of my Bank Statement.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.


Page:First« PreviousNext »Last

Southern Electric - Price Change Indicator

See when Southern Electric changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
1 Year Fixed Price New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/01/2014 31/01/2014 More Details
Fixed Price Mar 17 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/01/2014 31/01/2014 More Details
All tariffs 8.2% Price Increase 8.2% Price Increase 01/11/2013 15/11/2013 More Details
2 Year Fixed Price New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 11/10/2013 More Details
All tariffs 9% Price Increase 9% Price Increase 15/10/2012 15/10/2012 More Details
Fixed Price Plan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2011 01/11/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs 18% Price Increase 11% Price Increase 25/07/2011 25/07/2011 More Details
Price Fix 7 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/07/2011 25/07/2011 More Details
Fixed Discount January 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/07/2011 25/07/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs Gas Rates 9.4% Price Increase Price Increase 02/11/2010 01/12/2010 More Details
Price Fix 5 March 2012 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/09/2010 15/09/2010 More Details
betterplan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/07/2010 15/07/2010 More Details
betterplan no standing charge New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/07/2010 15/07/2010 More Details
Various electricity rates Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/04/2010 08/04/2010 More Details
Go Direct 4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/03/2010 31/03/2010 More Details
All Tariffs Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/03/2010 04/03/2010 More Details
Go Direct 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/10/2009 27/10/2009 More Details
Go Direct Price Decrease Price Decrease 23/09/2009 23/09/2009 More Details
Standard 4% Price Decrease 9% Price Decrease 06/03/2009 30/03/2009 More Details
All Products 29.2% Price Increase 19.2% Price Increase 21/08/2008 21/08/2008 More Details
Fixed Discount 2010 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/07/2008 07/07/2008 More Details
Standard 11.1% Price Increase 13.1% Price Increase 01/04/2008 01/04/2008 More Details
Better Plan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/11/2007 12/11/2007 More Details
Price Fix 2008 Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/10/2007 08/10/2007 More Details
Price Fix 2008 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/09/2007 28/09/2007 More Details
Standard Energy Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/08/2007 31/08/2007 More Details
All Products 12% Price Decrease 5.6% Price Decrease 01/03/2007 01/03/2007 More Details
All Products 12.2% Price Increase 9.4% Price Increase 29/09/2006 01/01/2007 More Details
All Products 16.5% Price Increase 9.4% Price Increase 01/05/2006 01/05/2006 More Details
All Products 13.6% Price Increase 11% Price Increase 01/01/2006 01/01/2006 More Details