SSE Southern Electric Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

252 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

Our Expert Says...

SSE's Fair Pricing Policy means they will hold off putting up energy prices for as long as possible and will try to bring them down as quickly as possible.

SSE is a FTSE 100 company and one of the largest integrated electricity and gas companies in the UK. Incorporating the supply businesses of Scottish Hydro, Southern Electric, SWALEC, Atlantic, SSE and Airtricity they supply over 9.5 million customers throughout Scotland, England, Wales and Ireland. SSE is a full service energy provider with more than 50 years of experience in the generation, transmission, distribution and supply of energy.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

quick to take money , slow giving back

Added 12/08/2014, reviewed by anonymous (leeds)

Supplier Ratings

My 90 year old mother recently moved into sheltered accomadaton ,unfortunately for her SSE were the providers of her energy ,l have never come across such an incompetent outfit as this . As is sometimes the case some adjustment s needed to be made which l accept , we received a refund from them except they were made out to her surname and estate agent title ,l contacted SSE waited for an age to get an answer eventually following a long conversation it was agreed that we owed them and SSE owed us the amount on the incorrectly titled cheque's , l paid our outstanding amount over the phone , we sent the cheques back l asked them to confirm receipt of these ,time passed nothing was forthcoming , still waitwaiting as their bank takes 6 weeks to process , call centre poor don't go there

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Pathetic

Added 08/08/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Burgess hill)

Supplier Ratings

Closed my duel fuel account, electricity closed and refunded within 4 weeks but gas is still outstanding. I am over £300 in credit but after numerous phone calls and emails they still have my money. Spoke to them this morning and was promised my final bill would be ready by this evening, they have now sent me an email saying 7-10 working days. Quite unbelievably they took another payment on 01 august even though I stopped using their gas on 26 June. I am so annoyed I have asked for compensation - some chance

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Rubbish

Added 20/06/2014, reviewed by anonymous (bromley)

Supplier Ratings

do not use! They will change yr bill to suit themselves and even take money from one account to another without notifying you! Expensive and rubbish customer service who will lie to get you off the phone- be warned!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Avoid them, better stay in cold & dark

Added 18/11/2013, reviewed by anonymous (london)

Supplier Ratings

Want to try it first hand. Just try to call their customer service number. These people are unreachable. Lost lots of money jst wating for them to answer and have to hang up every time(5 times) after wating around 15 mins

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Great Customer Service

Added 11/11/2013, reviewed by anonymous (kent)

Supplier Ratings

My mum who was suffering with dementia managed to sign herself to 3 companies for Gas and Elec because they were calling in the evening at her home and then getting her to sign up. It was a nightmare trying to sort it out. SE were brilliant in helping me, one of the other companies was very understanding too, EDF were awful and still sending mum bills and withholding money she was owed so in the end I threatened them with the ombudsman and it got sorted. SE arranged for a note to be made to stop the pm cold calling & were v helpful over the EDF situation too. I have both gas & elec with SE and mainly due to their great customer service + if you ask for info about your account they provide it. Price is obviously important but I am fed up with all these unhelpful call centers/CSDs.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.


Page:First« PreviousNext »Last

SSE Southern Electric - Price Change Indicator

See when SSE Southern Electric changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
SSE Direct New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/10/2014 02/10/2014 More Details
Various Price Decrease Price Decrease 16/06/2014 16/06/2014 More Details
Various Price Decrease Price Decrease 12/03/2014 12/03/2014 More Details
1 Year Fixed Price New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/01/2014 31/01/2014 More Details
Fixed Price Mar 17 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/01/2014 31/01/2014 More Details
All tariffs 8.2% Price Increase 8.2% Price Increase 01/11/2013 15/11/2013 More Details
2 Year Fixed Price New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 11/10/2013 More Details
All tariffs 9% Price Increase 9% Price Increase 15/10/2012 15/10/2012 More Details
Fixed Price Plan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2011 01/11/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs 18% Price Increase 11% Price Increase 25/07/2011 25/07/2011 More Details
Price Fix 7 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/07/2011 25/07/2011 More Details
Fixed Discount January 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/07/2011 25/07/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs Gas Rates 9.4% Price Increase Price Increase 02/11/2010 01/12/2010 More Details
Price Fix 5 March 2012 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/09/2010 15/09/2010 More Details
betterplan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/07/2010 15/07/2010 More Details
betterplan no standing charge New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/07/2010 15/07/2010 More Details
Various electricity rates Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/04/2010 08/04/2010 More Details
Go Direct 4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/03/2010 31/03/2010 More Details
All Tariffs Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/03/2010 04/03/2010 More Details
Go Direct 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/10/2009 27/10/2009 More Details
Go Direct Price Decrease Price Decrease 23/09/2009 23/09/2009 More Details
Standard 4% Price Decrease 9% Price Decrease 06/03/2009 30/03/2009 More Details
All Products 29.2% Price Increase 19.2% Price Increase 21/08/2008 21/08/2008 More Details
Fixed Discount 2010 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/07/2008 07/07/2008 More Details
Standard 11.1% Price Increase 13.1% Price Increase 01/04/2008 01/04/2008 More Details
Better Plan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/11/2007 12/11/2007 More Details
Price Fix 2008 Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/10/2007 08/10/2007 More Details
Price Fix 2008 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/09/2007 28/09/2007 More Details
Standard Energy Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/08/2007 31/08/2007 More Details
All Products 12% Price Decrease 5.6% Price Decrease 01/03/2007 01/03/2007 More Details
All Products 12.2% Price Increase 9.4% Price Increase 29/09/2006 01/01/2007 More Details
All Products 16.5% Price Increase 9.4% Price Increase 01/05/2006 01/05/2006 More Details
All Products 13.6% Price Increase 11% Price Increase 01/01/2006 01/01/2006 More Details