Scottish Power Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

793 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

Our Expert Says...

Owned by Spanish energy giants Iberdrola, Scottish Power supplies energy to more than 5.3 million customers across the UK.

Scottish Power is owned by Spanish energy giants Iberdrola providing energy to 5.2 million homes across the UK. They are the UK's largest developer of onshore wind farms as they look to help Britain generate 15% of our energy from renewable sources by 2015. Scottish Power's main supply regions include North Wales and South Scotland.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

PATHETIC

Added 18/08/2014, reviewed by Darren (Falkirk)

Supplier Ratings

Got a phone call from the sales people, I agreed to change to Scottish Power. I was told that I would receive my prepayment card and key within the next 7 days and to run all of the credit down on the meters before I put in the new card/key. I done this and still no new key/card. Have chronic m about the lack of service. I complained several times about the lack of service and I was basically told I was a liar. I had to spend 4 days without gas or electricity and they still insisted that it was my problem and not theirs. NEVER EVER GO WITH THEM. I will be changing suppliers when this is all sorted out. rs immediately this gets sorted out.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Bad service and awful communication.

Added 12/08/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Norwich)

Supplier Ratings

My experience of scottish power is negative, they have caused me nothing but stress. I have phoned numerous times to set up a direct debit and after being kept on hold for up to an hour they say they will call back then they never do. I finally got through and set up direct debit but nothing came out of my bank and i keep getting letters to say i havent paid my bill! When phoning again I was told that nobody had set us up a direct debit and she could see the numerous amounts of phone calls and that nothing had been done after each one. After filing a complaint i was reassured our account would be frozen and the letters would stop until it was sorted. They said they would sort it but lo and behold im still getting letters saying i havent paid my bill. Incompetent people at scottish power!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Awful customer service

Added 12/08/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Guildford)

Supplier Ratings

Moved into a house that was supplied by Scottish Power, and changed to nPower. They sent me a bill that was based on estimated readings that were nowhere near reality. Fortunately I had taken photos of the meters when I moved in and when the supply terminated. I phoned them a few times to submit the actual readings to get a new bill, took me over 30 mins to get through each time I tried to call but at least submitted the readings. Problem solved? Not a chance!! They continue to send the same incorrect bill every couple of days, then have given my details to a debt collection agency! Neither calls nor emails to the complaints team are ever actioned, you're lucky to get a vague reply stating that 'the issues are being looked into' - but nothing ever happens! See you in court!!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Highly confused supplyer

Added 12/08/2014, reviewed by Rick (Ludlow)

Supplier Ratings

I switched my gas and elec from Brit Gas. Scottish Power first failed to switch both and so I was billed by both for gas. Then month 2, Scottish Power decided to send me a monthly bill of £1,759. I contacted them and explained I wasn't suddenly running a factory from my house. Turns out they had charged me for some business up the road. However, 6 months later I am still getting that same bill from them because I failed to pay it! And, oh yes, they have now decided to charge me for gas, even though my account is fully paid up with Brit Gas. I have now switched from them, but the long, tiresome process of getting them to stop billing me even continues, even though every Scottish Power phone rep I have talked to tells me my account is clear. Idiots!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Avoid Scottish Power - total shambles

Added 11/08/2014, reviewed by Joanna (Birmingham)

Supplier Ratings

I have just has almost 12 months of chaos caused by Scottish Power. I've no idea what has suddenly gone wrong with their administration/customer service but I've never had such trouble with a company, not replying to my messages, not even reading them correctly before responding with incorrect advice/information. I spent 45 minutes on the phone trying to straighten out my simply account to no avail so have now changed supplier. Think hard before you switch, they are certainly not spending any of their profits on their Customer Service department!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.


Page:First« PreviousNext »Last

Scottish Power - Price Change Indicator

See when Scottish Power changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
Help Beat Cancer September 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/06/2014 11/06/2014 More Details
Fixed Price Energy June 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 24/04/2014 24/04/2014 More Details
Online Fixed Price Energy July 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/04/2014 08/04/2014 More Details
Help Beat Cancer Fixed Price Energy April 2017 Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/02/2014 04/02/2014 More Details
Fixed Price Energy April 2016 Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/02/2014 04/02/2014 More Details
Help Beat Cancer Fixed Price Energy April 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/02/2014 04/02/2014 More Details
Fixed Price Energy April 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/02/2014 04/02/2014 More Details
Various 3.3% Price Decrease 3.3% Price Decrease 31/01/2014 31/01/2014 More Details
Online Fixed Price February 2015v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/01/2014 03/01/2014 More Details
All tariffs 9% Price Increase 8.5% Price Increase 01/11/2013 06/12/2013 More Details
Fixed Price Energy December 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 31/10/2013 More Details
Online Fixed Price Energy Feb 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 24/10/2013 More Details
Online Fixed Price Energy March 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 11/10/2013 More Details
Unifi Fixed Energy January 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/10/2013 01/10/2013 More Details
Online Price Energy December 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/09/2013 21/09/2013 More Details
Help Beat Cancer Fixed Price Energy January 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/08/2013 30/08/2013 More Details
Fixed Price Energy March 2015 (v2) New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/08/2013 29/08/2013 More Details
Online Fixed price Energy November 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/07/2013 12/07/2013 More Details
Help Beat Cancer Discounted Energy October 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/07/2013 10/07/2013 More Details
Online Energy Online 23 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/07/2013 08/07/2013 More Details
Platinum Fixed Energy October 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/06/2013 05/06/2013 More Details
Unifi Fixed November 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 27/05/2013 27/05/2013 More Details
Online Fixed price Energy October 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/05/2013 20/05/2013 More Details
Online Energy Saver 22 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/05/2013 09/05/2013 More Details
Fixed Price Energy February 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/04/2013 25/04/2013 More Details
Online Fixed Price Energy August 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/03/2013 18/03/2013 More Details
Online Energy Saver 21 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/02/2013 11/02/2013 More Details
All tariffs 7% Price Increase 7% Price Increase 16/11/2012 03/12/2012 More Details
Online Fixed May 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/10/2012 30/10/2012 More Details
Fixed Price Energy April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/10/2012 17/10/2012 More Details
Online Fixed Price Energy April 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/09/2012 28/09/2012 More Details
Online Fixed Price Energy March 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/09/2012 11/09/2012 More Details
Online Fixed Price Energy January 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/08/2012 31/08/2012 More Details
Fixed Price Energy November 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 27/07/2012 27/07/2012 More Details
Online Energy Saver 20 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 24/07/2012 24/07/2012 More Details
Platinum Fixed Energy Nov 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 24/07/2012 24/07/2012 More Details
Online Energy Fixed 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/07/2012 17/07/2012 More Details
Simply Green Energy June 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/06/2012 07/06/2012 More Details
Help Beat Cancer Discounted Aug2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/06/2012 07/06/2012 More Details
Online Energy Saver 19 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/05/2012 22/05/2012 More Details
Online Fixed Price Energy August 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/05/2012 08/05/2012 More Details
Fixed Saver September 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/05/2012 08/05/2012 More Details
Platinum Fixed July 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/03/2012 29/03/2012 More Details
Online Energy Saver 18 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/03/2012 06/03/2012 More Details
Fixed Price Energy April 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/03/2012 02/03/2012 More Details
Various Tariffs 5% Price Decrease 0% Price Decrease 27/02/2012 27/02/2012 More Details
Fixed Saver June 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2012 13/02/2012 More Details
Help Beat Cancer Discounted Energy January 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/02/2012 10/02/2012 More Details
Online Fixed Energy May 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/01/2012 13/01/2012 More Details
Online Fixed Price Energy April 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/11/2011 17/11/2011 More Details
Online Energy Saver 17 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/11/2011 14/11/2011 More Details
Online Fixed Price Energy January 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/10/2011 11/10/2011 More Details
Platinum Fixed Energy October 2013 v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/10/2011 05/10/2011 More Details
Online Energy Saver 15 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/09/2011 29/09/2011 More Details
Online Fixed Price Energy December 2012 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/09/2011 14/09/2011 More Details
Fixed Saver April 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/08/2011 30/08/2011 More Details
Online Fixed Saver December 2012 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/08/2011 22/08/2011 More Details
Discounted Energy October 2013 v2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/08/2011 22/08/2011 More Details
Platinum Fixed Energy January 2014 v4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/08/2011 02/08/2011 More Details
Simply Green Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/08/2011 02/08/2011 More Details
Simply Green Energy Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/08/2011 02/08/2011 More Details
Discounted Energy October 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/08/2011 02/08/2011 More Details
Discounted Energy October 2013 Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/08/2011 02/08/2011 More Details
Online Fixed Saver November 2012 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/07/2011 14/07/2011 More Details
Unifi Capped Energy January 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/07/2011 05/07/2011 More Details
Capped Price Energy January 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/07/2011 05/07/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs 19% Price Increase 10% Price Increase 07/06/2011 07/06/2011 More Details
Scottish Power Direct October 2012 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/06/2011 07/06/2011 More Details
Fixed Price Energy January 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/06/2011 07/06/2011 More Details
Unifi Capped Energy November 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 19/05/2011 19/05/2011 More Details
Platinum Fixed Energy January 2014 (v3) New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/05/2011 11/05/2011 More Details
Online Energy Saver 14 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/04/2011 26/04/2011 More Details
Discounted Energy March 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/04/2011 01/04/2011 More Details
Platinum Fixed Energy January 2014 (v2) New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/03/2011 18/03/2011 More Details
Capped Price Energy June 2013 SC New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 19/01/2011 20/01/2011 More Details
Capped Price Energy June 2013 SC Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 19/01/2011 20/01/2011 More Details
Capped Price Energy June 2013 NSC New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 19/01/2011 20/01/2011 More Details
Capped Price Energy June 2013 NSC Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 19/01/2011 20/01/2011 More Details
Online Energy Saver 12 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/11/2010 29/11/2010 More Details
Discounted Energy March 2012 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/11/2010 25/11/2010 More Details
Various Tariffs 2% Price Increase 8.9% Price Increase 23/11/2010 23/11/2010 More Details
Capped Price Energy December 2012 SC New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/10/2010 14/10/2010 More Details
Capped Price Energy December 2012 SC Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/10/2010 14/10/2010 More Details
Capped Price Energy December 2012 NSC New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/10/2010 14/10/2010 More Details
Capped Price Energy December 2012 NSC Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/10/2010 14/10/2010 More Details
Online Energy Saver 11 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/09/2010 06/09/2010 More Details
Platinum Fixed Energy January 2014 SC New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/08/2010 10/08/2010 More Details
Platinum Fixed Energy January 2014 SC Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/08/2010 10/08/2010 More Details
Platinum Fixed Energy January 2014 NSC New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/08/2010 10/08/2010 More Details
Platinum Fixed Energy January 2014 NSC Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/08/2010 10/08/2010 More Details
Online Energy Saver 10 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/07/2010 15/07/2010 More Details
Price Tracker October 2011 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/07/2010 08/07/2010 More Details
Discounted Energy August 2011 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/04/2010 29/04/2010 More Details
Discounted Energy August 2011 Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/04/2010 29/04/2010 More Details
Capped Price Energy June 2012 SC New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/04/2010 29/04/2010 More Details
Capped Price Energy June 2012 SC Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/04/2010 29/04/2010 More Details
Capped Price Energy June 2012 NSC New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/04/2010 29/04/2010 More Details
Capped Price Energy June 2012 NSC Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/04/2010 29/04/2010 More Details
Online Energy Reward New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/04/2010 28/04/2010 More Details
Simply Green Energy Price Decrease Price Decrease 26/04/2010 26/04/2010 More Details
Discounted Energy July 2010 Price Decrease Price Decrease 26/04/2010 26/04/2010 More Details
Discounted Energy December 2010 Price Decrease Price Decrease 26/04/2010 26/04/2010 More Details
Discounted Energy December 2010 Online Price Decrease Price Decrease 26/04/2010 26/04/2010 More Details
Price Tracker April 2011 Price Decrease Price Decrease 27/04/2010 26/04/2010 More Details
Price Tracker April 2011 Online Price Decrease Price Decrease 27/04/2010 26/04/2010 More Details
Pay In Advance NSC Price Decrease Price Decrease 30/03/2010 29/03/2010 More Details
Pay In Advance Price Decrease Price Decrease 30/03/2010 29/03/2010 More Details
Online Energy - No Stding Charge Price Decrease Price Decrease 30/03/2010 29/03/2010 More Details
Online Energy Price Decrease Price Decrease 30/03/2010 29/03/2010 More Details
No Standing Charge Price Decrease Price Decrease 30/03/2010 29/03/2010 More Details
Standard Price Decrease Price Decrease 30/03/2010 29/03/2010 More Details
Simply Green Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/02/2010 25/02/2010 More Details
Fix n Flex April 2011 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/02/2010 12/02/2010 More Details
Price Tracker April 2011 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/02/2010 12/02/2010 More Details
Online Energy Saver 9 Price Increase Price Increase 08/02/2010 08/02/2010 More Details
Online Energy Saver 8 Price Decrease Price Decrease 18/01/2010 14/01/2010 More Details
Online Energy Saver 7 Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/10/2009 02/10/2009 More Details
Online Energy Saver 7 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/10/2009 24/09/2009 More Details
Capped Price Energy September 2011 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/09/2009 08/09/2009 More Details
Discounted Energy December 2010 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/09/2009 08/09/2009 More Details
Online Energy Saver 6 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/07/2009 16/07/2009 More Details
Fix n Flex New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/07/2009 26/06/2009 More Details
Online Energy Saver 5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/05/2009 29/04/2009 More Details
Standard 7.5% Price Decrease 3% Price Decrease 11/03/2009 31/03/2009 More Details
Price Sure Price Decrease Price Decrease 05/01/2009 05/01/2009 More Details
Capped Price 2010 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 27/11/2008 27/11/2008 More Details
Price Sure New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 27/11/2008 27/11/2008 More Details
All Products 34.4% Price Increase 9.4% Price Increase 29/08/2008 29/08/2008 More Details
Fixed Price Energy 2009 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/08/2008 11/08/2008 More Details
Fixed Price Energy 2009 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/06/2008 06/06/2008 More Details
All Tariffs 15% Price Increase 14% Price Increase 02/02/2008 02/02/2008 More Details
Discounted Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/01/2008 24/01/2008 More Details
Online Energy Saver 4 - Green Fund New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/07/2007 05/07/2007 More Details
Standard 11% Price Decrease 2.6% Price Decrease 30/04/2007 15/06/2007 More Details
Online Energy Saver 4 0.93% Price Decrease 14.03% Price Decrease 06/06/2007 06/06/2007 More Details
Energy Price Fall New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/04/2007 26/04/2007 More Details
Online Energy 3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/03/2007 16/03/2007 More Details
Capped Online Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/02/2007 23/02/2007 More Details
Capped Online Energy - No Standing Charge New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/02/2007 23/02/2007 More Details
Online Energy Saver II New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/12/2006 13/12/2006 More Details
2010 Price Guarantee New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/11/2006 17/11/2006 More Details
2010 Price Stepper New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/11/2006 17/11/2006 More Details
Capped 2007 17% Price Increase 10% Price Increase 04/08/2006 04/08/2006 More Details
All Products 17% Price Increase 10% Price Increase 22/06/2006 10/07/2006 More Details
Capped 2008 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/06/2006 22/06/2006 More Details
All Products 15% Price Increase 8% Price Increase 11/02/2006 01/03/2006 More Details
Online Energy Saver New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/01/2006 14/01/2006 More Details
All Products 12% Price Increase 6.5% Price Increase 07/10/2005 07/10/2005 More Details