Ovo Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

136 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

Our Expert Says...

A welcoming sign to the industry to have yet another new energy supplier hitting the scene. Customers are told to expect competitive prices and excellent customer service.

Every part of Ovo has been carefully chosen to help deliver great value gas and electricity and outstanding customer service. They went around the world to find the best technology systems and spent months finding the right people for their team. With these two areas covered, they operate Ovo simply and cost effectively for the benefit of customers and their business. Based in Gloucestershire, this supplier is in its infancy which to some may well be appealing at the right price. A small team with big ambitions.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

OVO are a breath of fresh air!

Added 10/05/2013, reviewed by Frank (Horsham)

Supplier Ratings

I'm delighted with OVO, they supply me 100% greenest energy on the market, are only beaten on price by two company's (providing less than 15% renewables) and have been excellent in their customer service when I've needed to contact them. I'm really surprised by the negative comments from some other customers, they have presumably been very unlucky? I can't fault this company, its actually a pleasure being their customer, they even pay 3% interest on accounts in more than 1 month's credit! Find another company that does that, my last supplier held more than 2 months credit although they weren't up front about how they had routinely over calculated how much my DD should be. I truly believe (& experience has proved it) that OVO are an honest, open company that are a model for the rest

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Greedy income strategy

Added 28/04/2013, reviewed by anonymous (Watford)

Supplier Ratings

I moved to OVO because I was fed up with swinging changes to my direct debit payments which built up significant funds to the benefit of the supplier. OVO declares their income strategy up front with a 25% uplift during the winter months which I felt was reasonable. Not a bit of it, despite the 25% uplift they have just increased my direct debit payment by 50% just at the point when my demand for gas has reduced by 60%, with no explanation or justification and none of this based upon a meter reading. They have ignored the points I raised in my emails and ignored my strict instruction not to increase my direct debit payment. They clearly follow a standard rhetoric that benefits them, just like all the others. What a shame, I thought they were different. Will move on next year.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Useless

Added 12/04/2013, reviewed by Robert (London)

Supplier Ratings

Incorrect bills, 'stand-over' phone tactics and no customer service at all - avoid at all costs.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Fantastic Service at a Fantastic Price

Added 27/03/2013, reviewed by anonymous (Dartford)

Supplier Ratings

I have tried over the years about 5 of the biggest energy companies and their customer service really hasn't made the grade and the prices have been high. Ovo Energy has the BEST customer service in the business and the best prices. It's like Waitrose food and customer service but with the benefit of Asda prices. The best energy company by far and I've been with them for just over a year so do have enough experience of them. I just wish all companies would be like Ovo.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

False claims and inefficiency

Added 22/03/2013, reviewed by anonymous (Nottingham)

Supplier Ratings

Left Scottish Power when they let us build up a surplus of over £600. Wish we'd stayed. OVO claimed they'd save us £120 a year; started by giving us a wrong log-in code, didn't asked for meter readings;the site isn't always accessible anyway. Based on the previous year's readings they set our DD. After a few months their contradictory, ever-changing figures made us want to leave. They claimed we couldn't; this is a lie.In their T&Cs it is stated that one may leave on payment of £30 for each fuel. On no evidence whatsoever, since all their figures are estimates, I paid £128 extra in Feb; now they want hundreds more, so that our bills will go up by at least 85% on last year's. Don't touch OVO with a bargepole. Their customer service is poor and their charges extortionate.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Ovo - Price Change Indicator

See when Ovo changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
PAYG Energy Plan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/05/2014 15/05/2014 More Details
PAYG Energy Plan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/04/2014 17/04/2014 More Details
Various Price Decrease Price Decrease 16/04/2014 16/04/2014 More Details
various no change no change 09/04/2014 09/04/2014 More Details
Various no change no change 13/02/2014 13/02/2014 More Details
Better Energy (Fixed to June 2016) New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/01/2014 21/01/2014 More Details
Cheaper Energy (Fixed to June 2016) New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/01/2014 21/01/2014 More Details
Simpler Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/01/2014 21/01/2014 More Details
All no change no change 21/01/2014 21/01/2014 More Details
New Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/11/2013 22/11/2013 More Details
Green Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/11/2013 22/11/2013 More Details
New Energy Ovo Just Reward New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/11/2013 22/11/2013 More Details
Green Energy Ovo Just Reward New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/11/2013 22/11/2013 More Details
New Energy and Green Energy Fixed no change no change 01/11/2013 11/10/2013 More Details
New Energy Variable and Green Energy Price Increase Price Increase 11/04/2013 11/04/2013 More Details
New Energy Fixed and Green Energy Fi Price Increase Price Increase 11/04/2013 11/04/2013 More Details
New Energy & Green Energy fixed Price Increase Price Increase 20/03/2012 15/03/2012 More Details
New Energy/Green Energy Fixed Price Decrease Price Decrease 12/01/2012 06/01/2012 More Details
New & Green Energy Fixed Price Increase Price Increase 17/08/2011 17/08/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs Price Increase Price Increase 09/06/2011 09/06/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs Price Increase Price Increase 03/12/2010 06/12/2010 More Details
New Energy Variable Price Increase Price Increase 24/09/2010 24/09/2010 More Details
New Energy Fixed Price Increase Price Increase 24/09/2010 24/09/2010 More Details
Green Energy Variable Price Increase Price Increase 24/09/2010 24/09/2010 More Details
Green Energy Fixed Price Increase Price Increase 24/09/2010 24/09/2010 More Details
Green Energy Fixed Price Increase Price Increase 20/08/2010 23/08/2010 More Details
New Energy Fixed Price Increase Price Increase 20/08/2010 23/08/2010 More Details
New Energy Price Increase Price Increase 28/04/2010 28/04/2010 More Details
Green Price Increase Price Increase 28/04/2010 28/04/2010 More Details
New Energy Fixed New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/03/2010 25/03/2010 More Details
New Energy Variable New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/03/2010 25/03/2010 More Details
Green Energy Fixed New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/03/2010 25/03/2010 More Details
Green Energy Variable New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/03/2010 25/03/2010 More Details
Green Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/09/2009 11/09/2009 More Details
New Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/09/2009 11/09/2009 More Details