Ovo Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

104 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

Our Expert Says...

A welcoming sign to the industry to have yet another new energy supplier hitting the scene. Customers are told to expect competitive prices and excellent customer service.

Every part of Ovo has been carefully chosen to help deliver great value gas and electricity and outstanding customer service. They went around the world to find the best technology systems and spent months finding the right people for their team. With these two areas covered, they operate Ovo simply and cost effectively for the benefit of customers and their business. Based in Gloucestershire, this supplier is in its infancy which to some may well be appealing at the right price. A small team with big ambitions.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

Really happy with OVO

Added 01/11/2013, reviewed by Rachel (Durham)

Supplier Ratings

We bought our first house in February, and moved to OVO. Having never heard of them I was a bit nervous but they offered the best deal. We've now been with them 8 months and have no complaints. Online billing is perfect, website easy to use so we add our own meter readings regularly. They over-calculated our usage (joined during cold period with no past usage to go off) so we've managed to build up quite a bit of credit (and get about 80p a month discount from interest) but it's easy to recalculate it online, we've just chosen not to to keep building a pot that earns us 3% interest. Had to ring customer service just once and found the guy very helpful, yet to get to renewal process but no complaints at all, a very easy and if the price stays competitive we're definitely likely to stick.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Blocked moving supplier

Added 23/05/2013, reviewed by anonymous (Chatham)

Supplier Ratings

I inherited Ovo after moving house. For months they refused to allow me to switch supplier, whilst keeping me on their highest tariff. Their excuse was that they thought the house was abandoned. At the same time billing me £300 per month. Avoid at all costs.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Customer Service

Added 10/05/2013, reviewed by anonymous (workington)

Supplier Ratings

I had an issue because I was unable to submit meter readings on-line. I had to ring and used my mobile. When asked to refund the cost they refused despite admitting that their website wasn't working..

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

OVO are a breath of fresh air!

Added 10/05/2013, reviewed by Frank (Horsham)

Supplier Ratings

I'm delighted with OVO, they supply me 100% greenest energy on the market, are only beaten on price by two company's (providing less than 15% renewables) and have been excellent in their customer service when I've needed to contact them. I'm really surprised by the negative comments from some other customers, they have presumably been very unlucky? I can't fault this company, its actually a pleasure being their customer, they even pay 3% interest on accounts in more than 1 month's credit! Find another company that does that, my last supplier held more than 2 months credit although they weren't up front about how they had routinely over calculated how much my DD should be. I truly believe (& experience has proved it) that OVO are an honest, open company that are a model for the rest

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Greedy income strategy

Added 28/04/2013, reviewed by anonymous (Watford)

Supplier Ratings

I moved to OVO because I was fed up with swinging changes to my direct debit payments which built up significant funds to the benefit of the supplier. OVO declares their income strategy up front with a 25% uplift during the winter months which I felt was reasonable. Not a bit of it, despite the 25% uplift they have just increased my direct debit payment by 50% just at the point when my demand for gas has reduced by 60%, with no explanation or justification and none of this based upon a meter reading. They have ignored the points I raised in my emails and ignored my strict instruction not to increase my direct debit payment. They clearly follow a standard rhetoric that benefits them, just like all the others. What a shame, I thought they were different. Will move on next year.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.


Page:First« PreviousNext »Last

Ovo - Price Change Indicator

See when Ovo changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
Better Energy (Fixed to June 2016) New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/01/2014 21/01/2014 More Details
Cheaper Energy (Fixed to June 2016) New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/01/2014 21/01/2014 More Details
Simpler Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/01/2014 21/01/2014 More Details
All no change no change 21/01/2014 21/01/2014 More Details
New Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/11/2013 22/11/2013 More Details
Green Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/11/2013 22/11/2013 More Details
New Energy Ovo Just Reward New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/11/2013 22/11/2013 More Details
Green Energy Ovo Just Reward New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/11/2013 22/11/2013 More Details
New Energy and Green Energy Fixed no change no change 01/11/2013 11/10/2013 More Details
New Energy Variable and Green Energy Price Increase Price Increase 11/04/2013 11/04/2013 More Details
New Energy Fixed and Green Energy Fi Price Increase Price Increase 11/04/2013 11/04/2013 More Details
New Energy & Green Energy fixed Price Increase Price Increase 20/03/2012 15/03/2012 More Details
New Energy/Green Energy Fixed Price Decrease Price Decrease 12/01/2012 06/01/2012 More Details
New & Green Energy Fixed Price Increase Price Increase 17/08/2011 17/08/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs Price Increase Price Increase 09/06/2011 09/06/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs Price Increase Price Increase 03/12/2010 06/12/2010 More Details
New Energy Variable Price Increase Price Increase 24/09/2010 24/09/2010 More Details
New Energy Fixed Price Increase Price Increase 24/09/2010 24/09/2010 More Details
Green Energy Variable Price Increase Price Increase 24/09/2010 24/09/2010 More Details
Green Energy Fixed Price Increase Price Increase 24/09/2010 24/09/2010 More Details
Green Energy Fixed Price Increase Price Increase 20/08/2010 23/08/2010 More Details
New Energy Fixed Price Increase Price Increase 20/08/2010 23/08/2010 More Details
New Energy Price Increase Price Increase 28/04/2010 28/04/2010 More Details
Green Price Increase Price Increase 28/04/2010 28/04/2010 More Details
New Energy Fixed New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/03/2010 25/03/2010 More Details
New Energy Variable New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/03/2010 25/03/2010 More Details
Green Energy Fixed New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/03/2010 25/03/2010 More Details
Green Energy Variable New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/03/2010 25/03/2010 More Details
Green Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/09/2009 11/09/2009 More Details
New Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/09/2009 11/09/2009 More Details