npower Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

1039 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

Our Expert Says...

Npower supplies gas and electricity to around 3.5 million customers.

RWE npower is a leading UK energy company which supplies gas and electricity to around 3.5 million customers and produces around 10% of the electricity used in the UK. We supply energy to both residential and business customers and put customers at the heart of everything we do.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

Useless

Added 15/10/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Liverpool)

Supplier Ratings

We changed meter in February and 8 months and several attempts later it is still not updated on the system. So we can't get an accurate bill. They can't tell me how long it will take to update the meter and I have no faith that they will do it this time either. Also they were chasing us for months to get a meter safety check done and even threatened legal action - it had been done when the meter was changed and they should have had a record of this. I had to call their associate company to get it sorted. Avoid them until they have their systems working properly.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

avoid npower at all costs!!!!

Added 11/10/2014, reviewed by anonymous (bootle)

Supplier Ratings

Im on a prepayment gas meter, recently put ?10 on card but the meter continually stated" please wait" so wouldn't register the money, therefore no gas, no heating and no meal! I phoned the only number on the bill, automated service said there was a 15 - 20 minute wait to be put through, I waited half an hour, to say I was livid is an understatement, I had to give the phone to my son to take the call as I was so stressed. we were asked to hold while the lady contacted the engineer which took another 8 minutes. i was informed the engineer would call within the next 4 hrs, it took 1 1/2 hrs . .I will not deal with this company any longer and put myself through this stress again. I am currently on comparison websites looking for another provider.. scores would not allow me to score nil!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Faulty meter support.

Added 11/10/2014, reviewed by anonymous (western isles)

Supplier Ratings

I would just like to say a few words of thanks for the support I received from Npower. I live in a remote area of Scotland. In May I noticed my electricity meter was recording more units than I was using. (It was even recording when all electricity was switched off.) Getting the meter changed was a painful process, but this was not the fault of Npower. In fact, they paid me compensation for three missed appointments. When the rate of extra charging was calculated, they backdated it to November, 2013, when I had changed over to NPower. I thought this was very decent, because I had no proof of overcharging before May. I can only speak from my personal experience, but overall I thought the support I received from Npower was very good.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Dreadful service (or lack of)

Added 30/09/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Carnoustie)

Supplier Ratings

To my regret I swiched to npower in February 2014 and, despite numerous phone calls, emails and letters, cannot get them to bill me or adjust my direct debit. According to my calculations they owe me nearly £300 which is probably why they won't sort it. Or maybe they are just totally incompetent. Customer Service could not care less. But WORSE. On one occasion they claimed to have sorted the problem and to have issued me £250 in compensation. Then, when challenged, the pillock admitted he was quoting from the wrong customer account. What hope do we have? DO NOT SWITCH TO NPLONKERS. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Absolutely shocking!

Added 13/09/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Newcastle-upon-Tyne)

Supplier Ratings

I never had a problem with their predecessor, Northern Electric. Since then a nightmare. They charged me £129 over the past year. The statement said it is the cheapest tariff. When I called in late June, it wasn't. They offered Fixed Aug 15 for less than £100. Days later I received a letter, saying that I had accumulated a credit of more than £1800, and my bill would go down to £33, but it was based on wrong estimates. I gave them the right ones, but the £33 were confirmed. In mid-July, another letter arrived, and I was to be charged £101. I had meanwhile filed a complain, they should use my credit. A guy came reading, but this seemed unrelated to the complaint. Today another bill: £139!!! All this in two month! No response to my complaint 8 weeks ago, now with Ombudsman. Incompetence!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.


Page:First« PreviousNext »Last

npower - Price Change Indicator

See when npower changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
Intelligent Control October 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/09/2014 25/09/2014 More Details
Online Price Fix May 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/09/2014 10/09/2014 More Details
Price Fix Feb 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/09/2014 10/09/2014 More Details
Online Price Fix October 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/07/2014 31/07/2014 More Details
Price Fix June 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/07/2014 31/07/2014 More Details
Price Fix August 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 24/06/2014 24/06/2014 More Details
Intelligent Fix April 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/05/2014 15/05/2014 More Details
Online Price Fix April 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/05/2014 15/05/2014 More Details
Price Protector September 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/03/2014 21/03/2014 More Details
Various Price Decrease Price Decrease 28/02/2014 28/02/2014 More Details
Price Protector March 2018 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/02/2014 25/02/2014 More Details
Online Price Fix June 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/02/2014 25/02/2014 More Details
Price Fix May 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/01/2014 21/01/2014 More Details
Price Fix March 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/01/2014 21/01/2014 More Details
Price Fix August 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/12/2013 17/12/2013 More Details
All tariffs 11.1% Price Increase 9.3% Price Increase 01/11/2013 01/12/2013 More Details
Price Protector December 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 21/10/2013 More Details
Price Fix April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 08/10/2013 More Details
Price Protector March 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/09/2013 09/09/2013 More Details
Online Price Fix November 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/09/2013 09/09/2013 More Details
Price Protector September 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/08/2013 08/08/2013 More Details
Fix December 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/08/2013 08/08/2013 More Details
Online Price Fix October 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/08/2013 08/08/2013 More Details
Energy Online January 2014 Price Increase Price Increase 01/07/2013 01/07/2013 More Details
Price Fix September 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/05/2013 10/05/2013 More Details
Online Price Fix August 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/05/2013 10/05/2013 More Details
Online Price Fix December 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/04/2013 15/04/2013 More Details
Online Price Fix June 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/04/2013 15/04/2013 More Details
Price Fix December 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/03/2013 15/03/2013 More Details
Online Price Fix May 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/03/2013 15/03/2013 More Details
Energy Online May 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/03/2013 08/03/2013 More Details
Energy Online October 2013 Price Increase Price Increase 15/02/2013 15/02/2013 More Details
Go Fix April 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2013 13/02/2013 More Details
Energy Online August 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/01/2013 07/01/2013 More Details
All tariffs 8.8% Price Increase 9.1% Price Increase 16/11/2012 26/11/2012 More Details
Energy online April 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/10/2012 12/10/2012 More Details
Price Protector March 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/10/2012 12/10/2012 More Details
Energy Online January 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/09/2012 12/09/2012 More Details
Go Fix January 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/09/2012 12/09/2012 More Details
Bill Saver November 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/07/2012 30/07/2012 More Details
Energycare New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/07/2012 30/07/2012 More Details
Bill Saver August 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/04/2012 23/04/2012 More Details
Go-Fix 12 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/04/2012 23/04/2012 More Details
Go-Fix 11 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/02/2012 20/02/2012 More Details
Sign Online 26 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/02/2012 20/02/2012 More Details
Various Gas Tariffs 5% Price Decrease 0% Price Decrease 31/01/2012 01/02/2012 More Details
Bill Saver May 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/01/2012 23/01/2012 More Details
Energy Discount December 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/01/2012 23/01/2012 More Details
Go Fix 10 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/01/2012 28/12/2011 More Details
Sign Online 25 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/12/2011 19/12/2011 More Details
Football Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 19/10/2011 19/10/2011 More Details
Flex Saver Feb 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/10/2011 17/10/2011 More Details
Go-Fix 8 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/09/2011 26/09/2011 More Details
Sign Online 24 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/09/2011 26/09/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs 15.7% Price Increase 7.2% Price Increase 18/08/2011 18/08/2011 More Details
Winter Fix New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/08/2011 18/08/2011 More Details
Go-Fix 7 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/08/2011 08/08/2011 More Details
Price Fix 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/07/2011 07/07/2011 More Details
Sign Online 23 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/07/2011 04/07/2011 More Details
Football 45 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/06/2011 13/06/2011 More Details
Bill Saver New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/06/2011 13/06/2011 More Details
Price Protector New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/06/2011 10/06/2011 More Details
Go-Fix 6 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/05/2011 09/05/2011 More Details
SOL 22 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/04/2011 11/04/2011 More Details
Price Protector New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/03/2011 07/03/2011 More Details
Go-Fix 5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/02/2011 25/02/2011 More Details
Football Saver 3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/01/2011 31/01/2011 More Details
Trio New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/01/2011 31/01/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs Price Increase Price Increase 10/12/2010 04/01/2011 More Details
SOL 21 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/01/2011 04/01/2011 More Details
SOL 20 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/10/2010 15/10/2010 More Details
Juice Electricity New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/10/2010 15/10/2010 More Details
Price Fix 2012 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 24/09/2010 27/09/2010 More Details
Football Saver 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 24/09/2010 27/09/2010 More Details
Go Fix 3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/08/2010 16/08/2010 More Details
SOL 19 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/07/2010 05/07/2010 More Details
Football Saver New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/06/2010 17/06/2010 More Details
Go Fix 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/04/2010 04/05/2010 More Details
Price Guarantee New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/04/2010 06/04/2010 More Details
SOL 18 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/04/2010 01/04/2010 More Details
Go Save Price Decrease Price Decrease 10/03/2010 10/03/2010 More Details
Sign Online v.4 Price Decrease Price Decrease 10/03/2010 10/03/2010 More Details
Sign Online v.5 Price Decrease Price Decrease 10/03/2010 10/03/2010 More Details
Sign Online v.6 Price Decrease Price Decrease 10/03/2010 10/03/2010 More Details
Sign Online v.7 Price Decrease Price Decrease 10/03/2010 10/03/2010 More Details
Standard - No Stding Charge Price Decrease Price Decrease 10/03/2010 10/03/2010 More Details
Juice - No Stding Charge Price Decrease Price Decrease 10/03/2010 10/03/2010 More Details
National Trust - No Stding Charge Price Decrease Price Decrease 10/03/2010 10/03/2010 More Details
Standard Price Decrease Price Decrease 10/03/2010 10/03/2010 More Details
Juice Price Decrease Price Decrease 10/03/2010 10/03/2010 More Details
National Trust Price Decrease Price Decrease 10/03/2010 10/03/2010 More Details
National Trust Green Energy Price Decrease Price Decrease 10/03/2010 10/03/2010 More Details
National Trust Green Energy - No Standing Charge Price Decrease Price Decrease 10/03/2010 10/03/2010 More Details
Web 17 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/12/2009 14/12/2009 More Details
Sign online 17 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/12/2009 14/12/2009 More Details
Go Save New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/12/2009 04/12/2009 More Details
Sign online 16 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/07/2009 20/07/2009 More Details
Web 16 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/07/2009 20/07/2009 More Details
Standard Price Decrease 7.2% Price Decrease 24/03/2009 16/03/2009 More Details
WEB 14 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/11/2008 03/11/2008 More Details
SOL 14 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/11/2008 03/11/2008 More Details
All Products 14% Price Increase 26% Price Increase 29/08/2008 29/08/2008 More Details
Price Protector New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/08/2008 29/08/2008 More Details
SOL 13 Price Increase Price Increase 29/08/2008 29/08/2008 More Details
SOL 12 Price Increase Price Increase 30/06/2008 30/06/2008 More Details
SOL 11 0% Price Decrease 6.2% Price Decrease 29/05/2008 29/05/2008 More Details
SOL 11 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/04/2008 28/04/2008 More Details
One Residential New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/04/2008 14/04/2008 More Details
Price Fix 2011 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/02/2008 22/02/2008 More Details
SOL10 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/02/2008 18/02/2008 More Details
National Trust Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/01/2008 14/01/2008 More Details
All Products 17.2% Price Increase 12.7% Price Increase 04/01/2008 04/01/2008 More Details
SOL 9 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/12/2007 17/12/2007 More Details
SOL 8 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 24/08/2007 24/08/2007 More Details
All Products 16% Price Decrease 3% Price Decrease 26/03/2007 30/04/2007 More Details
Sign Online 6 (SOL 6) - Dual Fuel Only Price Decrease Price Decrease 19/02/2007 19/02/2007 More Details
Sign Online 6 (SOL 6) 7.4% Price Decrease 3.9% Price Decrease 31/01/2007 31/01/2007 More Details
Sign Online 7 (SOL 7) 17.2% Price Increase 9.9% Price Increase 23/10/2006 23/10/2006 More Details
All Products 17.2% Price Increase 9.9% Price Increase 08/09/2006 01/10/2006 More Details
Sign Online 6 (SOL 6) Price Increase Price Increase 25/08/2006 25/08/2006 More Details
Sign Online 4.02 (SOL 4.02) Price Increase Price Increase 01/07/2006 01/07/2006 More Details
All Products 15% Price Increase 13.4% Price Increase 11/03/2006 01/04/2006 More Details
Sign Online 3 (SOL 3) 13.7% Price Increase 12% Price Increase 14/11/2005 01/01/2006 More Details