first-utility Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

537 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

First Utility is the fastest growing energy supplier in the UK and one of the largest independent energy companies. A main challenger to the Big Six providers, it supplies gas and electricity to 350,000 customers throughout the UK and is committed to helping them reduce their energy bills by offering cheaper tariffs, helping customers use less energy through the use of innovative technology and campaigning for industry change.

By challenging, rather than accepting, out-dated policies First Utility has become the UK's largest independent energy supplier. By campaigning for positive change in the industry, whether it's to make switching faster and easier or to make sure that the archaic structures of the wholesale market don't mean that consumers pay too much and big companies make too much. First Utility believes that with meaningful change we can help get consumers a better deal.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

very bad - avoid

Added 08/09/2014, reviewed by Mario (Leeds)

Supplier Ratings

This is the worst service I ever received in UK. I chose them as they seemed to be cheapest for me, but you get what you pay for. They charge me for both, gas and electricity but British Gas - previous supplier sends me bills for gas - last one is for approx. 80 quid. BG says I have not been disconnected from them, FU (this shortcut seems to stand for something rude) says I am with them. So two companies charge me for same service - British Gas answers fast, FU hasn't answered since mid August - I wrote them several times, and they just don't care. I am sick of this company _ I shouldn't join them. after reading bad reviews about them I thought it is just fussy people moaning - no, people who say it is bad service provider are right - I recommend do avoid First Utility

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Overcharged me for a whole years Gas use

Added 05/09/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Bristol)

Supplier Ratings

Joined in April 2013 and had no issues until October 13 when they decided to stop accepting my gas reading as it was too low in their option. Given I only had gas hob, obviously I don't use much. In Jan this year, we removed our kitchen to renovate so had no gas in the house between Jan - May, Informed first utility of this, contacted again in March but they could only give me a refund of £100 due to an issue with their billing system which had stopped them billing me in February....no bill appeared until July, widly overestimating my gas use, I contact them... my meter reading has to go to the disputes team, why did they not do this in January, meanwhile they have £300 of my money they won't give back. Maybe cheap but I am currently £300 out of pocket. Rather pay more for better service

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Disorganized Admin.

Added 04/09/2014, reviewed by Tim (Hinckley)

Supplier Ratings

This company certainly has better tariffs than any of the "big six" but their admin is hopelessly disorganized. If you submit meter readings on time on a monthly basis as I do then the computer produced bill should be accurately calculated base on your chosen tariff however I didn't receive a bill from Nov. last year to June this year due to a "new accounting procedure" - I had to calculate my own bill and pay accordingly ! Three weeks ago I applied for a tariff change on line to take effect on 1st September and they have just informed me after I chased it up that they had lost it! - at least they admit their mistakes!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Appalling service!

Added 01/09/2014, reviewed by anonymous (ossett)

Supplier Ratings

Please do not switch to First Utility!! We switched over a month ago and set up the direct debit at the time however I have received countless amounts of letters and text messages from them chasing payment and saying our account is overdue. It's impossible to speak to someone, my first call said I was 36th person is the queue, my second call said I was 57th person is the queue and I'm currently on hold (it's now been 50 MINUTES!!!!!) without anyone picking up. I've sent five messages through their website via the contact us page and also the complaints and haven't received any response (other than the letters and text messages chasing payment which isn't correct!!) They are an appalling company and switching to them is the worst thing we did.......Don't do it!!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

BILLS!

Added 01/09/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Tipton)

Supplier Ratings

I have been with first utility for over 3 months and so far all billings have been wrong, the direct debit never set up so i was getting over due payments.... once setup they still sent me overdue letters.... set up again and guess what? a couple months later a DUE LETTER again!!!!!! They they want my details for the 3rd time!!!!! If i email them i never hear anything from them..... I try to call them and it costs me to wait in their que for over 10mins. They maybe cheaper than the 6 but they need to get professionals in to sort out all the bad followups and systems.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.


Page:First« PreviousNext »Last

first-utility - Price Change Indicator

See when first-utility changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
iSave Fixed v21 September 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/07/2014 23/07/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v27 September 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/02/2014 02/07/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v23 August 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/05/2014 15/05/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v21 September 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/05/2014 01/05/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v22 September 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/05/2014 01/05/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed July 2015 v20 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/04/2014 15/04/2014 More Details
Power Play Fixed May 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/04/2014 09/04/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v18 May 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/03/2014 14/03/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v15 April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2014 13/02/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v16 April 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2014 13/02/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v17 April 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2014 13/02/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v14 July 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/12/2013 12/12/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v12 June 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 29/10/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v11 May 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 21/10/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v9 April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/09/2013 26/09/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v10 January 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/09/2013 06/09/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v8 September 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/04/2013 16/04/2013 More Details
iSave v15 and iSave v15 Electricity Only New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/04/2013 02/04/2013 More Details
Smart Homes Variable v2.0 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/03/2013 26/03/2013 More Details
iSave Everyday DFD New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/02/2013 26/02/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v7 September 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/02/2013 26/02/2013 More Details
iSave Everyday New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/02/2013 21/02/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v4 March 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/09/2012 25/09/2012 More Details
iSave v12 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/09/2012 25/09/2012 More Details
iSave Fixed v3 December 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/07/2012 31/07/2012 More Details
iSave Fixed Price v2 September 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/05/2012 11/05/2012 More Details
iSave v10 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2012 13/02/2012 More Details
iSave Fixed Price v1 March New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/01/2012 12/01/2012 More Details
Various Tariffs Price Increase Price Increase 08/11/2011 08/11/2011 More Details
iSave v9 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/11/2011 04/11/2011 More Details
Smart as Standard v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/10/2011 26/10/2011 More Details
Smart as Standard V2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/04/2011 01/04/2011 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel V8 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/04/2011 01/04/2011 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v7 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/12/2010 13/12/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v6 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/11/2010 23/11/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/10/2010 14/10/2010 More Details
Smart as Standard V1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/10/2010 14/10/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/07/2010 26/07/2010 More Details
Smart Dual Fuel Online Saver v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/07/2010 26/07/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v3 Price Decrease Price Decrease 15/03/2010 15/03/2010 More Details
Smart Dual Fuel Online Saver v4 Price Decrease Price Decrease 15/03/2010 15/03/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel V3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/03/2010 01/03/2010 More Details
Smart Dual Fuel Online Saver V4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/03/2010 01/03/2010 More Details
Standard Dual Fuel Price Decrease Price Decrease 25/02/2010 23/02/2010 More Details
Standard Dual Fuel New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/02/2010 12/02/2010 More Details
Smart Dual fuel online saver V3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/12/2009 09/12/2009 More Details
Smart Direct New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/11/2009 11/11/2009 More Details
Smart Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/10/2009 02/10/2009 More Details
isave Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/10/2009 02/10/2009 More Details
Smart New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/10/2009 10/09/2009 More Details
isave New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/10/2009 10/09/2009 More Details