first-utility Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

528 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

First Utility is the fastest growing energy supplier in the UK and one of the largest independent energy companies. A main challenger to the Big Six providers, it supplies gas and electricity to 350,000 customers throughout the UK and is committed to helping them reduce their energy bills by offering cheaper tariffs, helping customers use less energy through the use of innovative technology and campaigning for industry change.

By challenging, rather than accepting, out-dated policies First Utility has become the UK's largest independent energy supplier. By campaigning for positive change in the industry, whether it's to make switching faster and easier or to make sure that the archaic structures of the wholesale market don't mean that consumers pay too much and big companies make too much. First Utility believes that with meaningful change we can help get consumers a better deal.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

Terrible billing & customer service

Added 18/08/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Portsmouth)

Supplier Ratings

In March I received a bill for 3 months gas & electric - it had been delayed because of problems in their billing system. It contained errors and when I phoned customer service, they calculated that they had overcharged by £60.91 and sent me an email to confirm. The refund has not been forthcoming and they keep charging me the incorrect amount via direct debit (which I have cancelled 3 times). I have spoken to customer services a number of times (after enormous waits on the phone) and they all promise to fix it (some confirmed in emails) but it never happens. Now 5 months later they are telling me that everything is correct and won't resolve the matter. Time to move to another supplier!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

First Utility- Please Read This

Added 18/08/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Bournemouth)

Supplier Ratings

This is the first review I've ever written because I feel compelled to warn others of the potential dangers of signing up with this company. I must confess that I took the neg reviews for this company with a pinch of salt- and that was a very costly mistake- and one which i will not be repeating. I would strongly suggest that if you are considering changing to this supplier you do the following: (1) Telephone at least 3 times at different times on different days to get an idea of wait times (I averaged between 45mins- 2hrs to get a query resolved) (2) Really read the reviews about whether billing is correct- because this is a v common problem and if you cant speak to someone for 45 minutes to do that imagine your frustration (3) Tel & ask a question then enjoy 45min music

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Customer service appauling

Added 15/08/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Wallington)

Supplier Ratings

I have been with first utility for a couple of years. My monthly payments were too high and therefore my account was in credit. Firstly their billing does not show this. Secondly it has taken me over a month with emails not being actioned - 2 telephone calls of over 30 minute waiting time (costing of course) to get action to refund MY MONEY. Today it has been actioned and will take ANOTHER 15 days for the money to get back into my account. This is definitely not acceptable. MONEY SHOULD BE RETURNED IMMEDIATELY REQUESTED - IT IS NOT THEIRS JUST BECAUSE THAT IS THE WAY THEY RUN THEIR COMPANY. THEY NEED TO GET THEIR HOUSE IN ORDER OR THEY WILL LOSE A LOT OF CUSTOMERS - ME FOR ONE - and having read lots of reviews I now wondering how difficult that issue will be!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Please avoid!!!!

Added 14/08/2014, reviewed by anonymous (catlin)

Supplier Ratings

Yes they have very cheap prices but everything you may save you will spend on hold waiting to talk to someone on the phone. Email response times are over 2 weeks. I had no conformation letter after trying to sign up for 4 months then a bill appears 6 months later saying i oue them money! Please avoid! save yourselves the hassle!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Cheap rates and good customer service

Added 14/08/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Windsor)

Supplier Ratings

My experience with first-utility has been great, I'm saving a lot of money each year and the service I have received when I called the help desk or when they have called me has been good. The team were helpful and polite and transferred my call for me if needed, and the waiting time wasn't bad either - I've waiting longer for other companies to answer and respond. The overall changing process has been completely hassle free too and I have also recommended this company to my friends and family who have also looked into transferring or are in the process of transferring their supplier over too.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.


Page:First« PreviousNext »Last

first-utility - Price Change Indicator

See when first-utility changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
iSave Fixed v23 August 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/05/2014 15/05/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v21 September 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/05/2014 01/05/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v22 September 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/05/2014 01/05/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed July 2015 v20 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/04/2014 15/04/2014 More Details
Power Play Fixed May 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/04/2014 09/04/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v18 May 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/03/2014 14/03/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v15 April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2014 13/02/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v16 April 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2014 13/02/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v17 April 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2014 13/02/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v14 July 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/12/2013 12/12/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v12 June 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 29/10/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v11 May 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 21/10/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v9 April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/09/2013 26/09/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v10 January 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/09/2013 06/09/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v8 September 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/04/2013 16/04/2013 More Details
iSave v15 and iSave v15 Electricity Only New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/04/2013 02/04/2013 More Details
Smart Homes Variable v2.0 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/03/2013 26/03/2013 More Details
iSave Everyday DFD New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/02/2013 26/02/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v7 September 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/02/2013 26/02/2013 More Details
iSave Everyday New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/02/2013 21/02/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v4 March 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/09/2012 25/09/2012 More Details
iSave v12 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/09/2012 25/09/2012 More Details
iSave Fixed v3 December 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/07/2012 31/07/2012 More Details
iSave Fixed Price v2 September 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/05/2012 11/05/2012 More Details
iSave v10 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2012 13/02/2012 More Details
iSave Fixed Price v1 March New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/01/2012 12/01/2012 More Details
Various Tariffs Price Increase Price Increase 08/11/2011 08/11/2011 More Details
iSave v9 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/11/2011 04/11/2011 More Details
Smart as Standard v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/10/2011 26/10/2011 More Details
Smart as Standard V2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/04/2011 01/04/2011 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel V8 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/04/2011 01/04/2011 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v7 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/12/2010 13/12/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v6 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/11/2010 23/11/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/10/2010 14/10/2010 More Details
Smart as Standard V1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/10/2010 14/10/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/07/2010 26/07/2010 More Details
Smart Dual Fuel Online Saver v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/07/2010 26/07/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v3 Price Decrease Price Decrease 15/03/2010 15/03/2010 More Details
Smart Dual Fuel Online Saver v4 Price Decrease Price Decrease 15/03/2010 15/03/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel V3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/03/2010 01/03/2010 More Details
Smart Dual Fuel Online Saver V4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/03/2010 01/03/2010 More Details
Standard Dual Fuel Price Decrease Price Decrease 25/02/2010 23/02/2010 More Details
Standard Dual Fuel New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/02/2010 12/02/2010 More Details
Smart Dual fuel online saver V3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/12/2009 09/12/2009 More Details
Smart Direct New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/11/2009 11/11/2009 More Details
Smart Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/10/2009 02/10/2009 More Details
isave Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/10/2009 02/10/2009 More Details
Smart New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/10/2009 10/09/2009 More Details
isave New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/10/2009 10/09/2009 More Details