first-utility Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

499 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

First Utility is the fastest growing energy supplier in the UK and one of the largest independent energy companies. A main challenger to the Big Six providers, it supplies gas and electricity to 350,000 customers throughout the UK and is committed to helping them reduce their energy bills by offering cheaper tariffs, helping customers use less energy through the use of innovative technology and campaigning for industry change.

By challenging, rather than accepting, out-dated policies First Utility has become the UK's largest independent energy supplier. By campaigning for positive change in the industry, whether it's to make switching faster and easier or to make sure that the archaic structures of the wholesale market don't mean that consumers pay too much and big companies make too much. First Utility believes that with meaningful change we can help get consumers a better deal.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

Worst company I've dealt with

Added 02/07/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Blackpool)

Supplier Ratings

I joined First Utility for both gas and electricity supply. Almost from the start things didn't go well! Despite my phone calls and e mails, they failed to collect my direct debits (they assured me that all was correct) and I had to pay large lump sums to clear my 'debt'. Letters were ignored or only partly answered after long delays. No offer of compensation was made for the inconvenience caused. After several months, I informed them that I would be leaving them for another supplier and that I DID NOT expect any penalty charges. I joined another supplier earlier this year and all is going smoothly now (and substantially cheaper). I'm still waiting for a written response from First Utility!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

First Utility - just rude.

Added 01/07/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Wilson)

Supplier Ratings

A have had a couple of recent calls about the possibility of moving to First Utility. Realised that the bills would probably be cheaper than our existing supplier. However, having done some research into the company and looking at some of the online reviews, we decided not to change from our current supplier. One of the customer service people called again tonight and I explained that we would not be moving in ligh of the negative reviews. He argued vociferously and kept telling me that people only post reviews when they have had a bad experience. I told him that it was difficult to ignore the overwhelming negative feedback when we had little other info to go on. Eventually, after an audible sigh, he hung up on me. This did nothing to contradict the bad press about customer service.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Avoid like the Plague

Added 01/07/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Stirling)

Supplier Ratings

Called as they advised they were increasing direct debit based on their "industry projections" even although having a significant credit. Spent and hour on hold trying to speak to the direct debit department. Eventually got them to reduce back to original amount but not happy.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Worst company ever

Added 01/07/2014, reviewed by anonymous (London)

Supplier Ratings

Decided to leave First utility in April last year, the switch was completed within 6 weeks to the new supplier but it took First Utility EIGHT MONTHS to send me a final bill which was incorrect so I refused to pay. No problem they said we'll send you a correct bill within 2-3 weeks. Guess what I'm still waiting! I have given up trying to chase them up, it's too expensive and frustrating. This company is pathetic, I wouldn't trust them with a variable direct debit or frankly any financial information, I have never dealt with such incompetence.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Continual estimates of bills

Added 01/07/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Ellesmere Port)

Supplier Ratings

First Utility are a complete nightmare. I joined them in November '13 (last year) and even though I have sent my monthly readings every month, I have realised that if I don't send my reading on the EXACT DATE,I will always have an estimated bill. But even when I sent it on the exact date I have still had an estimated bill as they simply don't take my reading as accurate?? Nearly tearing my hair out. I too will not be paying the exit fees as I have had nothing but trouble with them and It is hard to know my exact usage because of all the estimates.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.


Page:First« PreviousNext »Last

first-utility - Price Change Indicator

See when first-utility changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
iSave Fixed v23 August 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/05/2014 15/05/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v21 September 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/05/2014 01/05/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v22 September 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/05/2014 01/05/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed July 2015 v20 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/04/2014 15/04/2014 More Details
Power Play Fixed May 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/04/2014 09/04/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v18 May 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/03/2014 14/03/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v15 April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2014 13/02/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v16 April 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2014 13/02/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v17 April 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2014 13/02/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v14 July 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/12/2013 12/12/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v12 June 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 29/10/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v11 May 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 21/10/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v9 April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/09/2013 26/09/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v10 January 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/09/2013 06/09/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v8 September 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/04/2013 16/04/2013 More Details
iSave v15 and iSave v15 Electricity Only New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/04/2013 02/04/2013 More Details
Smart Homes Variable v2.0 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/03/2013 26/03/2013 More Details
iSave Everyday DFD New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/02/2013 26/02/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v7 September 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/02/2013 26/02/2013 More Details
iSave Everyday New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/02/2013 21/02/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v4 March 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/09/2012 25/09/2012 More Details
iSave v12 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/09/2012 25/09/2012 More Details
iSave Fixed v3 December 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/07/2012 31/07/2012 More Details
iSave Fixed Price v2 September 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/05/2012 11/05/2012 More Details
iSave v10 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2012 13/02/2012 More Details
iSave Fixed Price v1 March New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/01/2012 12/01/2012 More Details
Various Tariffs Price Increase Price Increase 08/11/2011 08/11/2011 More Details
iSave v9 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/11/2011 04/11/2011 More Details
Smart as Standard v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/10/2011 26/10/2011 More Details
Smart as Standard V2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/04/2011 01/04/2011 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel V8 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/04/2011 01/04/2011 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v7 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/12/2010 13/12/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v6 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/11/2010 23/11/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/10/2010 14/10/2010 More Details
Smart as Standard V1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/10/2010 14/10/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/07/2010 26/07/2010 More Details
Smart Dual Fuel Online Saver v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/07/2010 26/07/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v3 Price Decrease Price Decrease 15/03/2010 15/03/2010 More Details
Smart Dual Fuel Online Saver v4 Price Decrease Price Decrease 15/03/2010 15/03/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel V3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/03/2010 01/03/2010 More Details
Smart Dual Fuel Online Saver V4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/03/2010 01/03/2010 More Details
Standard Dual Fuel Price Decrease Price Decrease 25/02/2010 23/02/2010 More Details
Standard Dual Fuel New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/02/2010 12/02/2010 More Details
Smart Dual fuel online saver V3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/12/2009 09/12/2009 More Details
Smart Direct New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/11/2009 11/11/2009 More Details
Smart Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/10/2009 02/10/2009 More Details
isave Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/10/2009 02/10/2009 More Details
Smart New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/10/2009 10/09/2009 More Details
isave New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/10/2009 10/09/2009 More Details