first-utility Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

564 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

First Utility is the fastest growing energy supplier in the UK and one of the largest independent energy companies. A main challenger to the Big Six providers, it supplies gas and electricity to 350,000 customers throughout the UK and is committed to helping them reduce their energy bills by offering cheaper tariffs, helping customers use less energy through the use of innovative technology and campaigning for industry change.

By challenging, rather than accepting, out-dated policies First Utility has become the UK's largest independent energy supplier. By campaigning for positive change in the industry, whether it's to make switching faster and easier or to make sure that the archaic structures of the wholesale market don't mean that consumers pay too much and big companies make too much. First Utility believes that with meaningful change we can help get consumers a better deal.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

Avoid at all costs

Added 14/10/2014, reviewed by Kerry (Epping)

Supplier Ratings

There is not a tariff low enough that will make up for the absolutely horrendous customer service provided by First Utility. I have had an ongoing complaint with them since May 2013 (yes 2013 thats not a typo) and they have even ignored the ombudsmans ruling when they found in my favour. They never ever respond to emails or calls and have just landed me with a bill for over £2k with no prior warning and no contact to tell me I was in debit. Their online account doesnt work so I have never been able to log in and check useage and their estimates are way out. There are not words to convey my feelings about this company

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

First:Utility = Worst:Utility

Added 13/10/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Swindon)

Supplier Ratings

Ended-up with them by default (previous supplier to property). Phone them up, change name, give new meter reading, wait for bill, nothing. After 2 weeks a payment due letter arrives, payment is made a few days later using BACS, a day or two later another payment due letter arrives but is ignored as payment has been made with in 5 days. A week or so later a threatening letter arrives saying bill hasn't been paid. After nearly an hour on hold I talk to a human who tells me nothing is owed and that info on online access will be sent to me. A month later, still no online access info, but I get another payment due letter (this time for a different amount) so once again I'm on the phone to give a new meter reading. First Utility, they don't even deserve 1/10. Avoid like the plague.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Terrible

Added 09/10/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Consett)

Supplier Ratings

This is the worst supplier of energy I have ever come across. We switched to them in November 2013 and they came out to take readings. They then changed out meter to a metric meter but have not changed this on their system. I have therefore not been able to submit any readings nor have they been back to read the meter themselves. I have made numerous phonecalls each time being told by a "customer services" representative that they would have to speak to their colleagues in head office to get advice on what to do. Each time they cannot get hold of their colleagues so agree to ring me back. The call never comes. I have emailed them & complained on several occasions each time getting an auto response stating someone will contact me within 5 days and i'm still waiting. They are really poor.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Don't want to return your money!

Added 09/10/2014, reviewed by KEVIN (READING)

Supplier Ratings

Been waiting over 14 working days for a credit refund of £275 after build up of credit over summer months. After initial request was raised on 18 September we are still waiting....Is this acceptable? We think not... contacted first utility credit control on 5 October to be told it would definitely be in our account by 8 October, contacted credit team today, 9 October and now told it will be another 14 days. After several telephone calls and numerous excuses for why a manager is not available we are still on the phone, trying to sort it out. They take YOUR money but don't want to give YOUR money back. As per other reviews, low prices but customer services are absolutely shocking! What a joke, want this resolved immediately with our money returned today or OFGEM here we come......

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Absolutely dire, sign up at your peril

Added 08/10/2014, reviewed by Christine (Milton Keynes)

Supplier Ratings

Joined 04/14. Seemed OK. Online a/c worked. DD taken. Then it started to go wrong. Threatening letter fm Siemens/FU re change of elec meter, accusing me of not responding to previous request - tho' nothing rec'd from them. After several months of complaints, emails, tel calls (waiting for ages on the phone), I was "migrated" to another system. I wasn't told that this would result in a new account and I wasn't able to access any prior readings. Now I have a Smart meter but have to provide gas readings via email or by phone call! Then it got worse. Bill generated 2 Oct. They have changed my tariff without my knowledge/consent. Bill is wrong. Cust Serv don't seem to care/understand the severity of this issue. Est. gas reading for 3wks more than 1.5x 2 mths actual use. I see no end to this

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.


Page:First« PreviousNext »Last

first-utility - Price Change Indicator

See when first-utility changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
iSave Fixed v41 March 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/12/2014 11/12/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v39 January 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/12/2014 03/12/2014 More Details
iControl Fixed v38 January 2018 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/11/2014 05/11/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v37 March 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/11/2014 05/11/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed November 2015 (v35) New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 20/10/2014 20/10/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v34 January 2018 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/10/2014 14/10/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v33 November 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/10/2014 02/10/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v31 January 2018 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/09/2014 22/09/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v30 October 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/09/2014 04/09/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v21 September 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/07/2014 23/07/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v27 September 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/02/2014 02/07/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v23 August 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/05/2014 15/05/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v21 September 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/05/2014 01/05/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v22 September 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/05/2014 01/05/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed July 2015 v20 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/04/2014 15/04/2014 More Details
Power Play Fixed May 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/04/2014 09/04/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v18 May 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/03/2014 14/03/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v15 April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2014 13/02/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v16 April 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2014 13/02/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v17 April 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2014 13/02/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v14 July 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/12/2013 12/12/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v12 June 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 29/10/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v11 May 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 21/10/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v9 April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/09/2013 26/09/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v10 January 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/09/2013 06/09/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v8 September 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/04/2013 16/04/2013 More Details
iSave v15 and iSave v15 Electricity Only New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/04/2013 02/04/2013 More Details
Smart Homes Variable v2.0 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/03/2013 26/03/2013 More Details
iSave Everyday DFD New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/02/2013 26/02/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v7 September 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/02/2013 26/02/2013 More Details
iSave Everyday New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/02/2013 21/02/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v4 March 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/09/2012 25/09/2012 More Details
iSave v12 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/09/2012 25/09/2012 More Details
iSave Fixed v3 December 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/07/2012 31/07/2012 More Details
iSave Fixed Price v2 September 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/05/2012 11/05/2012 More Details
iSave v10 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2012 13/02/2012 More Details
iSave Fixed Price v1 March New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/01/2012 12/01/2012 More Details
Various Tariffs Price Increase Price Increase 08/11/2011 08/11/2011 More Details
iSave v9 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/11/2011 04/11/2011 More Details
Smart as Standard v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/10/2011 26/10/2011 More Details
Smart as Standard V2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/04/2011 01/04/2011 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel V8 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/04/2011 01/04/2011 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v7 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/12/2010 13/12/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v6 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/11/2010 23/11/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/10/2010 14/10/2010 More Details
Smart as Standard V1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/10/2010 14/10/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/07/2010 26/07/2010 More Details
Smart Dual Fuel Online Saver v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/07/2010 26/07/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v3 Price Decrease Price Decrease 15/03/2010 15/03/2010 More Details
Smart Dual Fuel Online Saver v4 Price Decrease Price Decrease 15/03/2010 15/03/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel V3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/03/2010 01/03/2010 More Details
Smart Dual Fuel Online Saver V4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/03/2010 01/03/2010 More Details
Standard Dual Fuel Price Decrease Price Decrease 25/02/2010 23/02/2010 More Details
Standard Dual Fuel New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/02/2010 12/02/2010 More Details
Smart Dual fuel online saver V3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/12/2009 09/12/2009 More Details
Smart Direct New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/11/2009 11/11/2009 More Details
Smart Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/10/2009 02/10/2009 More Details
isave Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/10/2009 02/10/2009 More Details
Smart New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/10/2009 10/09/2009 More Details
isave New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/10/2009 10/09/2009 More Details