first-utility Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

511 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

First Utility is the fastest growing energy supplier in the UK and one of the largest independent energy companies. A main challenger to the Big Six providers, it supplies gas and electricity to 350,000 customers throughout the UK and is committed to helping them reduce their energy bills by offering cheaper tariffs, helping customers use less energy through the use of innovative technology and campaigning for industry change.

By challenging, rather than accepting, out-dated policies First Utility has become the UK's largest independent energy supplier. By campaigning for positive change in the industry, whether it's to make switching faster and easier or to make sure that the archaic structures of the wholesale market don't mean that consumers pay too much and big companies make too much. First Utility believes that with meaningful change we can help get consumers a better deal.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

APPALLING TREATMENT

Added 28/07/2014, reviewed by Sharon (Ashton under Lyne)

Supplier Ratings

I have today emailed the CEO, ian.mccaig@first-utility.com, I wait with baited breath for a response. My mum left the company about 18 months ago after her nearly having a nervous breakdown through this company threatening to send the bailiffs in, they had set her up with 2 accounts and were taking money from both up to £600 on one occasion, it took me ages to get the money refunded, I closed the account and paid up to and including the final bill. NOW I have received an email stating my mum owes them £25.91, they won't speak to me unless my mum speaks with them first, that is not going to happen as my mum is seriously ill and if I tell her this has raised it's ugly head again it will send her over the edge!! They can send me emails about the account but can't speak to me incompetents!!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

First Utility or The Worst Utility

Added 26/07/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Glasgow)

Supplier Ratings

First Utility or the Worst Utility? If you are smart enough, save yourself some time, bother, telephone bill and surprises and steer clear from First Utility. Whole company is very badly organised,constantly technical errors on their website, taking incorrect amount of money without any explanation and loooooong waiting time on telephone queue. Trying to phone them, average waiting time is 15-25 mins to talk to someone, adds up on your phone bill and if you are lucky your issue will be solved. Their letters are very inaccurate, no clear explanation and breakdown of your bill. I will not recommend First Utility to anyone, STEER CLEAR from it.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Firstworst (Purgamentum)

Added 26/07/2014, reviewed by Joe (Bristol)

Supplier Ratings

The Latin Word Purgamentum and its definition rubbish, trash, filth. Which is what this company is. As some other reviewers have said, it's pointless sending in your meter readings as they ignore them and use estimates. Their excuse was that not everyone is as punctual as me. My advice is to avoid them like the plague, but if you're unfortunate enough to be with them make sure you owe them money or they won't close your account. Over four months, and numerous calls and always a different excuse. Cheap, but absolutely not cheerful. This mob are absolute shockers. STAY CLEAR. YOU'VE BEEN WARNED

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Appaling customer service

Added 26/07/2014, reviewed by anonymous (chorleywood)

Supplier Ratings

Absolutely terrible, very difficult to contact and when you do get an answer they are outrageously rude and NEVER follow through on their promises. I have had an ongiong issue, (now with the ombudsman service) for five months and during that time they have totally ignored my requests. Avoid this terrible company. As soon as my contract period is up I am leaving them for good.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Awful!! waste of time

Added 23/07/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Manchester)

Supplier Ratings

I cant comment on the charges or bills as I never got that far... made the switch in July, got an account number by email but then hadnt heard anything past that, the webpage to check switch progress was down, called up twice the first time passed to 3 different people, and was at first fobbed off and told a lie that it was all progressing I just had to wait.. he hadnt even checked my account, there was a problem in which he ended up saying he reapplied for the application. Two weeks later i call up again to be told that as the switch was over 2 weeks ago that it got cancelled.. news to me!! I wasnt even told. thanks, what a waste of time. I will be switching to another supplier.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.


Page:First« PreviousNext »Last

first-utility - Price Change Indicator

See when first-utility changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
iSave Fixed v23 August 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/05/2014 15/05/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v21 September 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/05/2014 01/05/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v22 September 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/05/2014 01/05/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed July 2015 v20 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/04/2014 15/04/2014 More Details
Power Play Fixed May 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/04/2014 09/04/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v18 May 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/03/2014 14/03/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v15 April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2014 13/02/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v16 April 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2014 13/02/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v17 April 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2014 13/02/2014 More Details
iSave Fixed v14 July 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/12/2013 12/12/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v12 June 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 29/10/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v11 May 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 21/10/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v9 April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/09/2013 26/09/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v10 January 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/09/2013 06/09/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v8 September 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/04/2013 16/04/2013 More Details
iSave v15 and iSave v15 Electricity Only New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/04/2013 02/04/2013 More Details
Smart Homes Variable v2.0 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/03/2013 26/03/2013 More Details
iSave Everyday DFD New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/02/2013 26/02/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v7 September 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/02/2013 26/02/2013 More Details
iSave Everyday New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/02/2013 21/02/2013 More Details
iSave Fixed v4 March 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/09/2012 25/09/2012 More Details
iSave v12 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/09/2012 25/09/2012 More Details
iSave Fixed v3 December 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/07/2012 31/07/2012 More Details
iSave Fixed Price v2 September 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/05/2012 11/05/2012 More Details
iSave v10 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/02/2012 13/02/2012 More Details
iSave Fixed Price v1 March New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/01/2012 12/01/2012 More Details
Various Tariffs Price Increase Price Increase 08/11/2011 08/11/2011 More Details
iSave v9 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/11/2011 04/11/2011 More Details
Smart as Standard v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/10/2011 26/10/2011 More Details
Smart as Standard V2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/04/2011 01/04/2011 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel V8 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/04/2011 01/04/2011 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v7 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/12/2010 13/12/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v6 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/11/2010 23/11/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/10/2010 14/10/2010 More Details
Smart as Standard V1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/10/2010 14/10/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/07/2010 26/07/2010 More Details
Smart Dual Fuel Online Saver v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/07/2010 26/07/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel v3 Price Decrease Price Decrease 15/03/2010 15/03/2010 More Details
Smart Dual Fuel Online Saver v4 Price Decrease Price Decrease 15/03/2010 15/03/2010 More Details
iSave Dual Fuel V3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/03/2010 01/03/2010 More Details
Smart Dual Fuel Online Saver V4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/03/2010 01/03/2010 More Details
Standard Dual Fuel Price Decrease Price Decrease 25/02/2010 23/02/2010 More Details
Standard Dual Fuel New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/02/2010 12/02/2010 More Details
Smart Dual fuel online saver V3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/12/2009 09/12/2009 More Details
Smart Direct New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/11/2009 11/11/2009 More Details
Smart Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/10/2009 02/10/2009 More Details
isave Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/10/2009 02/10/2009 More Details
Smart New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/10/2009 10/09/2009 More Details
isave New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/10/2009 10/09/2009 More Details