EDF Energy Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

328 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

Our Expert Says...

French owned EDF supplies energy to more than 5.5 million customers. Main regions are London, Seeboard and SWEB.

EDF Energy is part of the French owned EDF Group providing energy to more than 5.5 million customers across the UK. In January 2009, the EDF Group acquired British Energy, the UK's largest producer of nuclear power with 8 nuclear power stations. EDF Energy has committed to invest in developing four new nuclear stations throughout the UK with the first to be operational by 2018. EDF Energy's main supply regions include London, South East and South West.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

Direct Debits - watch out!

Added 23/02/2009, reviewed by anonymous (Havant)

Supplier Ratings

Just received a gas bill for four months rather than three. Wife telephoned EDF to query this and was met by a representative of EDF whose first words were along the lines "I really don't know. I'm not being confrontational but I don't know until I look". Strange response to a simple query. It appears because we had chosen to come off DD payments as a result of EDF wanting to charge us nearly 3 times per month more than what we were paying which was ridiculous, their system now needs to catch up with our account and charge us for an extra 43 days! Coincides with their price decreases approaching - they want to bill as much this quarter it would seem before their decreases. Have had two other bills previously and it is only now they decide to "catch up". Representatives awful.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Rubish service

Added 06/02/2009, reviewed by anonymous (Exeter)

Supplier Ratings

We are on a pre-payment meter for our electricity,last year our weekly charges were on average £12 per week, we are now paying about £21 per week, they changed the meter in october last year as we asked about the charges then which we thought were high. The supply ran out today with £1.13 showing on the meter I put the key in to obtain the £5 emergency credit, the wife went to charge the key with £20 when she put the key in the meter we were credited with £18.59, this was within an hour of the supply going onto the emergency credit.In the meantime we had boiled the kettle for a cup of tea and had some toast, plus the fridgefreezer and chest freezer clicked in.I was told on phoning them that the charge for the meter is debited on a wednesday, we have now switched suppliers

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Poor Service, high charges

Added 03/02/2009, reviewed by anonymous (Darlington)

Supplier Ratings

I applied to change from EDF last June but it took until November for a new supplier to take over my electricity because EDF had given the wrong supply number. In the October I was over £300 in credit with EDF but as yet this has not been refunded to me and when I contact them they keep making excuses that they had not received a final reading from my new supplier despite them having sent this reading at least twice.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

no hidden charges

Added 01/02/2009, reviewed by anonymous (dunstable)

Supplier Ratings

glad i have changed to edf

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Would Recommend To Anyone

Added 30/01/2009, reviewed by anonymous (Sunderland)

Supplier Ratings

I have found EDF energy a very good company to have my fuels supplied by. There prices are a lot cheaper than N Power in my area. I don't get left out because I am on Pre Payment. I recieve Nectar point's for nothing. Everytime that I have contacted them, I have got through within a couple of minutes, and it was a 0800 number aswell.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

EDF Energy - Price Change Indicator

See when EDF Energy changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
Blue +Price Promise June 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/01/2014 31/01/2014 More Details
Blue +Price Promise April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 01/11/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Freeeeze March 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/10/2013 03/10/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Promise March 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/10/2013 03/10/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Promise December 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/08/2013 28/08/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Freeeeze November 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/07/2013 03/07/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Promise September 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/07/2013 03/07/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Promise February 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/04/2013 09/04/2013 More Details
All tariffs 10.8% Price Increase 10.8% Price Increase 16/11/2012 07/12/2012 More Details
Blue +fixed Price March 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/10/2012 26/10/2012 More Details
Energy Discount v 5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/10/2012 26/10/2012 More Details
Blue +Price Promise May 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/09/2012 27/09/2012 More Details
Blue +Price Promise April 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/08/2012 03/08/2012 More Details
Blue +Price Promise September 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/04/2012 02/04/2012 More Details
Blue +Price Promise Sept 2013- Offset New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/04/2012 02/04/2012 More Details
Fix to June 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/02/2012 16/02/2012 More Details
Various Tariffs 5% Price Decrease 0% Price Decrease 07/02/2012 07/02/2012 More Details
Fix to March 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/01/2012 13/01/2012 More Details
Online S@ver v8 Price Increase Price Increase 20/10/2011 20/10/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs 15.4% Price Increase 4.5% Price Increase 19/09/2011 19/09/2011 More Details
Fixed S@ver v2 (relaunch) New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/08/2011 26/08/2011 More Details
Fix for 2012 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/08/2011 15/08/2011 More Details
Energy Discount Plan v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 27/06/2011 27/06/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v10 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/06/2011 06/06/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v7 Price Increase Price Increase 06/06/2011 06/06/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v12 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 19/04/2011 19/04/2011 More Details
Fixed Price 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/04/2011 18/04/2011 More Details
Fixed S@ver v2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/04/2011 11/04/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v9 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/02/2011 18/02/2011 More Details
Fixed Price 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 19/01/2011 19/01/2011 More Details
Annual Fix v1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/01/2011 11/01/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v8 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/12/2010 14/12/2010 More Details
Energy Discount Plan v4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/11/2010 29/11/2010 More Details
Fixed S@ver New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/11/2010 09/11/2010 More Details
EcoManager Package New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/11/2010 01/11/2010 More Details
Annual Fix Version 4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/10/2010 06/10/2010 More Details
Standard Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Energy Discount Plan V2 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Energy Discount Plan v3 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Green Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v1 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v2 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v3 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v4 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v5 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v6 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v7 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/08/2010 16/08/2010 More Details
Annual Fix v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/07/2010 06/07/2010 More Details
Energy Discount Plan v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/07/2010 05/07/2010 More Details
Green Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/04/2010 08/04/2010 More Details
Online S@ver Version 6 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/02/2010 25/02/2010 More Details
Fixed Price 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/02/2010 25/02/2010 More Details
Annual Fix Version 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/02/2010 22/02/2010 More Details
Annual Fix Version 1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/01/2010 18/01/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/12/2009 04/01/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/11/2009 02/11/2009 More Details
Online Version 5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/07/2009 22/07/2009 More Details
Online S@ver v2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/07/2009 01/07/2009 More Details
Annual fix v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/06/2009 22/06/2009 More Details
Energy Discount Plan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/05/2009 27/04/2009 More Details
Standard Price Decrease 8.8% Price Decrease 06/03/2009 31/03/2009 More Details
Annual Fix v.2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/03/2009 09/02/2009 More Details
Annual Fix v.1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/01/2009 19/01/2009 More Details
Price Freeze 2009 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/11/2008 17/11/2008 More Details
Online v.6 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/10/2008 01/10/2008 More Details
Price Protection 2010 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/10/2008 01/10/2008 More Details
Price Protection 2009 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/07/2008 25/07/2008 More Details
All Products 22% Price Increase 17% Price Increase 25/07/2008 25/07/2008 More Details
Fixed Price 2009 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/03/2008 17/03/2008 More Details
Standard 12.9% Price Increase 7.9% Price Increase 18/01/2008 18/01/2008 More Details
Price Saver 2008 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/08/2007 31/08/2007 More Details
Standard 10.2% Price Decrease Price Decrease 30/04/2007 15/06/2007 More Details
Online Tariff v 5.1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/03/2007 01/03/2007 More Details
Online Tariff v 5.1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/01/2007 05/01/2007 More Details
All Products 19% Price Increase 8% Price Increase 24/07/2006 24/07/2006 More Details
Online Tariff v 4.1 Price Increase Price Increase 24/07/2006 24/07/2006 More Details
Fixed 2010 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 24/07/2006 24/07/2006 More Details
All Products New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/06/2006 05/06/2006 More Details
Online Tariff v 4.1 no change no change 17/05/2006 17/05/2006 More Details
All Products 14.7% Price Increase 4.7% Price Increase 20/02/2006 13/03/2006 More Details
All Products 12% Price Increase 10.7% Price Increase 01/08/2005 01/08/2005 More Details