EDF Energy Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

328 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

Our Expert Says...

French owned EDF supplies energy to more than 5.5 million customers. Main regions are London, Seeboard and SWEB.

EDF Energy is part of the French owned EDF Group providing energy to more than 5.5 million customers across the UK. In January 2009, the EDF Group acquired British Energy, the UK's largest producer of nuclear power with 8 nuclear power stations. EDF Energy has committed to invest in developing four new nuclear stations throughout the UK with the first to be operational by 2018. EDF Energy's main supply regions include London, South East and South West.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!

Added 16/08/2013, reviewed by anonymous (Torbay)

Supplier Ratings

Have been paying for our neighbours electric after a mix up with our meters!! We contacted EDF straight away it took 8 WEEKS before they even bothered to send out a technician to have a look (We were still being charged silly amounts each month!!) Technician spent a grand total of 5 mins here before driving off and not even explaining what would happen next. Was advised by customer services they would write up a report and get back to me in a week. That was 4 weeks ago! Still had NO reply despite numerous complains! Its been over 13 weeks now! Still being charged silly amounts! AVOID TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVCE!!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Insufferable

Added 05/08/2013, reviewed by anonymous (Ellesmere Port)

Supplier Ratings

If your meter readings are a day out then you get charged considerably more for the month. They pull your credit information without any advance warning and take more than twice what they need each month, even in mid winter, to put in a holding account from which there is no hope of getting any money back from, even when it reads in excess of +£345. As for their inaccuracy I had 2 months where the difference on my meters were almost identical to the differences for a previous month and I got charged £30 more without being told of any price changes. Their customre service is dreadful on the phone & by email. Being fair they do have a kind of Instant Message help page wich isn't bad but you do get treated like an idiot when you say "I've already tried..." I do not recommend EDF.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Beware Of Their 'Payment Plans'

Added 29/05/2013, reviewed by Richard (Plymouth)

Supplier Ratings

This is EDFs policy on payment plans - if your payment doesn't hit their account on the exact day of the month they expect it then they will cancel your plan. Fair enough if you're a late payer, but believe it or not they actually penalize early payers the same way! I've had my payment plan cancelled automatically, without warning 3 times because my payment was made 'too early' (by a few days) and now I've received letter threatening legal action and installation of a prepayment meter and all I've done is stick to the payment agreement. I can't see what the problem is, most companies reward early payers. Not EDF it seems. I'll be switching providers as soon as my arrears are cleared.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Incompetent, patronising, appalling

Added 04/05/2013, reviewed by anonymous (London)

Supplier Ratings

EDF Energy changed the wrong gas supply and took 5 months to do anything about it after I complained. During this period EDF Energy has refused to amend the direct debit, set up to pay for duel fuel, despite the fact they are only providing me with electricity (effectively forcing me to pay for a service they are not providing). EDF Energy have failed to provide me with information I have requested, including their complaints policy, details of their regulator and ombudsman, and only offered an insulting £25 'goodwill' payment despite my having spent many many hours dealing with their appalling, patronising and overly familiar customer service.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Ridiculously bad customer service!

Added 14/04/2013, reviewed by Adam (Edinburgh)

Supplier Ratings

I have been with EDF for 10 months, when I moved into my flat I gave them both meter readings, now 10 months later I still haven't received a bill for my gas because they appear to have lost the reading for it! Not only that but I started paying by D/D at £100 a month I have over £700 credit with the company which they won't refund, until they fix the problem with the gas and have currently taken over 2 months to trying to do that! I could have that money sitting in my bank earning interest and not only that if I was a little short on something I would have the money to fix it! The service is unbelievable, a flat out refusal to give me what is my money!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

EDF Energy - Price Change Indicator

See when EDF Energy changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
Blue +Price Promise June 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/01/2014 31/01/2014 More Details
Blue +Price Promise April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 01/11/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Freeeeze March 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/10/2013 03/10/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Promise March 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/10/2013 03/10/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Promise December 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/08/2013 28/08/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Freeeeze November 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/07/2013 03/07/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Promise September 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/07/2013 03/07/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Promise February 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/04/2013 09/04/2013 More Details
All tariffs 10.8% Price Increase 10.8% Price Increase 16/11/2012 07/12/2012 More Details
Blue +fixed Price March 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/10/2012 26/10/2012 More Details
Energy Discount v 5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/10/2012 26/10/2012 More Details
Blue +Price Promise May 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/09/2012 27/09/2012 More Details
Blue +Price Promise April 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/08/2012 03/08/2012 More Details
Blue +Price Promise September 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/04/2012 02/04/2012 More Details
Blue +Price Promise Sept 2013- Offset New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/04/2012 02/04/2012 More Details
Fix to June 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/02/2012 16/02/2012 More Details
Various Tariffs 5% Price Decrease 0% Price Decrease 07/02/2012 07/02/2012 More Details
Fix to March 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/01/2012 13/01/2012 More Details
Online S@ver v8 Price Increase Price Increase 20/10/2011 20/10/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs 15.4% Price Increase 4.5% Price Increase 19/09/2011 19/09/2011 More Details
Fixed S@ver v2 (relaunch) New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/08/2011 26/08/2011 More Details
Fix for 2012 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/08/2011 15/08/2011 More Details
Energy Discount Plan v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 27/06/2011 27/06/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v10 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/06/2011 06/06/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v7 Price Increase Price Increase 06/06/2011 06/06/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v12 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 19/04/2011 19/04/2011 More Details
Fixed Price 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/04/2011 18/04/2011 More Details
Fixed S@ver v2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/04/2011 11/04/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v9 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/02/2011 18/02/2011 More Details
Fixed Price 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 19/01/2011 19/01/2011 More Details
Annual Fix v1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/01/2011 11/01/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v8 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/12/2010 14/12/2010 More Details
Energy Discount Plan v4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/11/2010 29/11/2010 More Details
Fixed S@ver New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/11/2010 09/11/2010 More Details
EcoManager Package New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/11/2010 01/11/2010 More Details
Annual Fix Version 4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/10/2010 06/10/2010 More Details
Standard Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Energy Discount Plan V2 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Energy Discount Plan v3 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Green Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v1 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v2 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v3 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v4 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v5 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v6 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v7 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/08/2010 16/08/2010 More Details
Annual Fix v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/07/2010 06/07/2010 More Details
Energy Discount Plan v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/07/2010 05/07/2010 More Details
Green Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/04/2010 08/04/2010 More Details
Online S@ver Version 6 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/02/2010 25/02/2010 More Details
Fixed Price 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/02/2010 25/02/2010 More Details
Annual Fix Version 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/02/2010 22/02/2010 More Details
Annual Fix Version 1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/01/2010 18/01/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/12/2009 04/01/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/11/2009 02/11/2009 More Details
Online Version 5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/07/2009 22/07/2009 More Details
Online S@ver v2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/07/2009 01/07/2009 More Details
Annual fix v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/06/2009 22/06/2009 More Details
Energy Discount Plan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/05/2009 27/04/2009 More Details
Standard Price Decrease 8.8% Price Decrease 06/03/2009 31/03/2009 More Details
Annual Fix v.2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/03/2009 09/02/2009 More Details
Annual Fix v.1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/01/2009 19/01/2009 More Details
Price Freeze 2009 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/11/2008 17/11/2008 More Details
Online v.6 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/10/2008 01/10/2008 More Details
Price Protection 2010 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/10/2008 01/10/2008 More Details
Price Protection 2009 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/07/2008 25/07/2008 More Details
All Products 22% Price Increase 17% Price Increase 25/07/2008 25/07/2008 More Details
Fixed Price 2009 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/03/2008 17/03/2008 More Details
Standard 12.9% Price Increase 7.9% Price Increase 18/01/2008 18/01/2008 More Details
Price Saver 2008 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/08/2007 31/08/2007 More Details
Standard 10.2% Price Decrease Price Decrease 30/04/2007 15/06/2007 More Details
Online Tariff v 5.1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/03/2007 01/03/2007 More Details
Online Tariff v 5.1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/01/2007 05/01/2007 More Details
All Products 19% Price Increase 8% Price Increase 24/07/2006 24/07/2006 More Details
Online Tariff v 4.1 Price Increase Price Increase 24/07/2006 24/07/2006 More Details
Fixed 2010 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 24/07/2006 24/07/2006 More Details
All Products New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/06/2006 05/06/2006 More Details
Online Tariff v 4.1 no change no change 17/05/2006 17/05/2006 More Details
All Products 14.7% Price Increase 4.7% Price Increase 20/02/2006 13/03/2006 More Details
All Products 12% Price Increase 10.7% Price Increase 01/08/2005 01/08/2005 More Details