EDF Energy Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

333 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

Our Expert Says...

French owned EDF supplies energy to more than 5.5 million customers. Main regions are London, Seeboard and SWEB.

EDF Energy is part of the French owned EDF Group providing energy to more than 5.5 million customers across the UK. In January 2009, the EDF Group acquired British Energy, the UK's largest producer of nuclear power with 8 nuclear power stations. EDF Energy has committed to invest in developing four new nuclear stations throughout the UK with the first to be operational by 2018. EDF Energy's main supply regions include London, South East and South West.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

Appalling customer service

Added 12/12/2013, reviewed by Neil (Bromley)

Supplier Ratings

New customer (forced because new rental property has pre-payment key). Average time on hold has been 30 minutes with one call of 50 minutes going unanswered. Was promised a call back twice and neither materialised. Worst customer service that I have experienced from any company in my life (personal and professional). Would not recommend to my worst enemy.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Dreadful

Added 11/11/2013, reviewed by anonymous (kent)

Supplier Ratings

My mum who was suffering with dementia managed to sign herself to 3 companies for Gas and Elec because they were calling in the evening at her home and then getting her to sign up. It was a nightmare trying to sort it out. SE were brilliant in helping me, one of the other companies was very understanding too, EDF were awful and were still sending mum red bills and threatening letters which she was getting upset about + withholding monies owed to her so in the end I threatened them with the ombudsman and it got sorted eventually.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Absolutely disgusting customer service

Added 31/10/2013, reviewed by anonymous (Derby)

Supplier Ratings

It all started when edf decided they were going to charge me for the entire time i have lived in my house approx 2 years even though i had already paid for 18 months of it. I have sent numerous emails to try and sort this out only to be told that they have recieved no emails from me (even though i have automated responses saying they have) nobody seems to understand what my issue is and ive had to explain it over and over again. The average time i wait for a response is 3 weeks yet they give me a deadline of 6 days to reply before they send me the same bill!almost 2 months since i first conplained and ive got nowhere.avoid at all costs!!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Bad start to my switch to EDF

Added 29/10/2013, reviewed by elizabeth (christchurch)

Supplier Ratings

Received an email asking me to register online as I'd chosen online billing. Completed the registration detail, clicked to register. Reply was they had technical problems, gave an 0800 number. Response to my call: 10 - 45 min expected wait for an answer to my call.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Leaving after 2 weeks

Added 21/08/2013, reviewed by anonymous (Henley in Arden)

Supplier Ratings

I switched to EDF because the blue price promise looked good. Now they are telling me that I am not on this plan at all because i have the wrong meter and they have only just noticed. They want to send an engineer to change the meter, but only have one available at really inconvenient times. They will also charge me if I need to cancel the appointment after it is booked. If the engineer turns up in the few mins I need to take the kids to school they will charge me for this too. Their customer service staff seem incapable of explaining the details of the contract I have apparently been put on instead. The people who answer the emails can barely string together a sentence of fluent English, let alone answer a question. Have decided the best option is just to get out as quickly as possible.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

EDF Energy - Price Change Indicator

See when EDF Energy changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
Blue +Price Promise March 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/09/2014 10/09/2014 More Details
Blue +Price Freeeeze May 2018 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/09/2014 10/09/2014 More Details
Blue +Price Promise February 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/06/2014 26/06/2014 More Details
Blue +Price Promise August 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/04/2014 25/04/2014 More Details
Blue +Price Promise July 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/04/2014 08/04/2014 More Details
Blue +Price Freeeeze July 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/04/2014 08/04/2014 More Details
Blue +Price Promise June 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/01/2014 31/01/2014 More Details
Blue +Price Promise April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 01/11/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Freeeeze March 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/10/2013 03/10/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Promise March 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/10/2013 03/10/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Promise December 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/08/2013 28/08/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Freeeeze November 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/07/2013 03/07/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Promise September 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/07/2013 03/07/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Promise February 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/04/2013 09/04/2013 More Details
All tariffs 10.8% Price Increase 10.8% Price Increase 16/11/2012 07/12/2012 More Details
Blue +fixed Price March 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/10/2012 26/10/2012 More Details
Energy Discount v 5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/10/2012 26/10/2012 More Details
Blue +Price Promise May 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/09/2012 27/09/2012 More Details
Blue +Price Promise April 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/08/2012 03/08/2012 More Details
Blue +Price Promise September 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/04/2012 02/04/2012 More Details
Blue +Price Promise Sept 2013- Offset New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/04/2012 02/04/2012 More Details
Fix to June 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/02/2012 16/02/2012 More Details
Various Tariffs 5% Price Decrease 0% Price Decrease 07/02/2012 07/02/2012 More Details
Fix to March 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/01/2012 13/01/2012 More Details
Online S@ver v8 Price Increase Price Increase 20/10/2011 20/10/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs 15.4% Price Increase 4.5% Price Increase 19/09/2011 19/09/2011 More Details
Fixed S@ver v2 (relaunch) New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/08/2011 26/08/2011 More Details
Fix for 2012 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/08/2011 15/08/2011 More Details
Energy Discount Plan v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 27/06/2011 27/06/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v10 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/06/2011 06/06/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v7 Price Increase Price Increase 06/06/2011 06/06/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v12 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 19/04/2011 19/04/2011 More Details
Fixed Price 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/04/2011 18/04/2011 More Details
Fixed S@ver v2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/04/2011 11/04/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v9 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/02/2011 18/02/2011 More Details
Fixed Price 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 19/01/2011 19/01/2011 More Details
Annual Fix v1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/01/2011 11/01/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v8 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/12/2010 14/12/2010 More Details
Energy Discount Plan v4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/11/2010 29/11/2010 More Details
Fixed S@ver New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/11/2010 09/11/2010 More Details
EcoManager Package New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/11/2010 01/11/2010 More Details
Annual Fix Version 4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/10/2010 06/10/2010 More Details
Standard Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Energy Discount Plan V2 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Energy Discount Plan v3 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Green Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v1 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v2 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v3 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v4 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v5 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v6 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v7 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/08/2010 16/08/2010 More Details
Annual Fix v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/07/2010 06/07/2010 More Details
Energy Discount Plan v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/07/2010 05/07/2010 More Details
Green Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/04/2010 08/04/2010 More Details
Online S@ver Version 6 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/02/2010 25/02/2010 More Details
Fixed Price 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/02/2010 25/02/2010 More Details
Annual Fix Version 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/02/2010 22/02/2010 More Details
Annual Fix Version 1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/01/2010 18/01/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/12/2009 04/01/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/11/2009 02/11/2009 More Details
Online Version 5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/07/2009 22/07/2009 More Details
Online S@ver v2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/07/2009 01/07/2009 More Details
Annual fix v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/06/2009 22/06/2009 More Details
Energy Discount Plan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/05/2009 27/04/2009 More Details
Standard Price Decrease 8.8% Price Decrease 06/03/2009 31/03/2009 More Details
Annual Fix v.2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/03/2009 09/02/2009 More Details
Annual Fix v.1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/01/2009 19/01/2009 More Details
Price Freeze 2009 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/11/2008 17/11/2008 More Details
Online v.6 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/10/2008 01/10/2008 More Details
Price Protection 2010 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/10/2008 01/10/2008 More Details
Price Protection 2009 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/07/2008 25/07/2008 More Details
All Products 22% Price Increase 17% Price Increase 25/07/2008 25/07/2008 More Details
Fixed Price 2009 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/03/2008 17/03/2008 More Details
Standard 12.9% Price Increase 7.9% Price Increase 18/01/2008 18/01/2008 More Details
Price Saver 2008 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/08/2007 31/08/2007 More Details
Standard 10.2% Price Decrease Price Decrease 30/04/2007 15/06/2007 More Details
Online Tariff v 5.1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/03/2007 01/03/2007 More Details
Online Tariff v 5.1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/01/2007 05/01/2007 More Details
All Products 19% Price Increase 8% Price Increase 24/07/2006 24/07/2006 More Details
Online Tariff v 4.1 Price Increase Price Increase 24/07/2006 24/07/2006 More Details
Fixed 2010 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 24/07/2006 24/07/2006 More Details
All Products New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/06/2006 05/06/2006 More Details
Online Tariff v 4.1 no change no change 17/05/2006 17/05/2006 More Details
All Products 14.7% Price Increase 4.7% Price Increase 20/02/2006 13/03/2006 More Details
All Products 12% Price Increase 10.7% Price Increase 01/08/2005 01/08/2005 More Details