EDF Energy Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

333 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

Our Expert Says...

French owned EDF supplies energy to more than 5.5 million customers. Main regions are London, Seeboard and SWEB.

EDF Energy is part of the French owned EDF Group providing energy to more than 5.5 million customers across the UK. In January 2009, the EDF Group acquired British Energy, the UK's largest producer of nuclear power with 8 nuclear power stations. EDF Energy has committed to invest in developing four new nuclear stations throughout the UK with the first to be operational by 2018. EDF Energy's main supply regions include London, South East and South West.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

Dreadful customer service

Added 11/08/2014, reviewed by Leila (Bath)

Supplier Ratings

EDF have consistently withheld information about my energy bills which has cost me upwards of £300 for a five-month period - I've complained but they've tried to brush off my complaint and have been fairly aggressive and intimidating towards me on the phone. Every time I speak to a different EDF adviser I get a different answer - there seem to be huge discrepancies in service within their company. I'm frankly appalled at the mishadling of my complaint and would never switch back to EDF - be warned.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Polite but Usless

Added 15/07/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Orpington)

Supplier Ratings

We had separate gas and electric bills with EDF. Paid them both clear, yet they changed it to dual tariff (single bill) and show the money still owing. 6 'phone calls and over a week later, they admit the error but not cleared it. £125 is a lot to us as pensioners. Looking to change supplier. EDF customer service very polite but fail to sort out problem.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Perfect

Added 23/06/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Stirling)

Supplier Ratings

Have just ended a 4 year fixed term with EDF. They were the last supplier to increase prices, I got a great deal just before price increased. Never had a single problem with them, online billing faultless, online service excellent. All the information I required for comparison purposes fell easily to hand, no need to sit down with calculator as was the case in years gone by. EDF matched the best prices if I took out another 3yr fixed however First Utilities 12 month fixed price looked the most attractive deal. EDF worked out £140 more over 12 months. I certainly have no complaints whatsoever with EDF - if they'd price matched the FIrst Utility 1yr fixed rate tariff I'd happily have remained a customer.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Utterly incompetent

Added 21/06/2014, reviewed by anonymous (London)

Supplier Ratings

This has been the worst service I have ever had to endure. The guessing of my bill has resulted in debts of over £2000. Every time I call I get someone different who tells me a different figure, it's as if they were guessing! The final straw has been the increasing of the direct debit without my agreement by £300 for a few months so my accounts are overdrawn. Appalling, I wouldn't recommend them to my worst enemy.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Terrible customer service

Added 19/06/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Stroud)

Supplier Ratings

I'm trying to pay my final bill with EDF as I've switched to a green supplier, and every bill I've received simple shows an amount due, with no explanation of where the figure comes from - no meter reading or rates information. When I emailed to request a clearer bill it took weeks to get a response simply saying 'We will get back to you in ten days'. Meanwhile I've received numerous bill reminders threatening debt collection. The website is also a nightmare to navigate.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.


Page:First« PreviousNext »Last

EDF Energy - Price Change Indicator

See when EDF Energy changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
Blue +Price Promise February 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/06/2014 26/06/2014 More Details
Blue +Price Promise August 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/04/2014 25/04/2014 More Details
Blue +Price Promise July 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/04/2014 08/04/2014 More Details
Blue +Price Freeeeze July 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/04/2014 08/04/2014 More Details
Blue +Price Promise June 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/01/2014 31/01/2014 More Details
Blue +Price Promise April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 01/11/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Freeeeze March 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/10/2013 03/10/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Promise March 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/10/2013 03/10/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Promise December 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/08/2013 28/08/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Freeeeze November 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/07/2013 03/07/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Promise September 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/07/2013 03/07/2013 More Details
Blue +Price Promise February 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/04/2013 09/04/2013 More Details
All tariffs 10.8% Price Increase 10.8% Price Increase 16/11/2012 07/12/2012 More Details
Blue +fixed Price March 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/10/2012 26/10/2012 More Details
Energy Discount v 5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/10/2012 26/10/2012 More Details
Blue +Price Promise May 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/09/2012 27/09/2012 More Details
Blue +Price Promise April 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 03/08/2012 03/08/2012 More Details
Blue +Price Promise September 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/04/2012 02/04/2012 More Details
Blue +Price Promise Sept 2013- Offset New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/04/2012 02/04/2012 More Details
Fix to June 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/02/2012 16/02/2012 More Details
Various Tariffs 5% Price Decrease 0% Price Decrease 07/02/2012 07/02/2012 More Details
Fix to March 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/01/2012 13/01/2012 More Details
Online S@ver v8 Price Increase Price Increase 20/10/2011 20/10/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs 15.4% Price Increase 4.5% Price Increase 19/09/2011 19/09/2011 More Details
Fixed S@ver v2 (relaunch) New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/08/2011 26/08/2011 More Details
Fix for 2012 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/08/2011 15/08/2011 More Details
Energy Discount Plan v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 27/06/2011 27/06/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v10 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/06/2011 06/06/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v7 Price Increase Price Increase 06/06/2011 06/06/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v12 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 19/04/2011 19/04/2011 More Details
Fixed Price 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/04/2011 18/04/2011 More Details
Fixed S@ver v2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/04/2011 11/04/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v9 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/02/2011 18/02/2011 More Details
Fixed Price 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 19/01/2011 19/01/2011 More Details
Annual Fix v1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/01/2011 11/01/2011 More Details
Online S@ver v8 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/12/2010 14/12/2010 More Details
Energy Discount Plan v4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/11/2010 29/11/2010 More Details
Fixed S@ver New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/11/2010 09/11/2010 More Details
EcoManager Package New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/11/2010 01/11/2010 More Details
Annual Fix Version 4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/10/2010 06/10/2010 More Details
Standard Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Energy Discount Plan V2 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Energy Discount Plan v3 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Green Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v1 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v2 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v3 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v4 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v5 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v6 Price Increase Price Increase 30/09/2010 30/09/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v7 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/08/2010 16/08/2010 More Details
Annual Fix v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/07/2010 06/07/2010 More Details
Energy Discount Plan v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/07/2010 05/07/2010 More Details
Green Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/04/2010 08/04/2010 More Details
Online S@ver Version 6 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/02/2010 25/02/2010 More Details
Fixed Price 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/02/2010 25/02/2010 More Details
Annual Fix Version 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/02/2010 22/02/2010 More Details
Annual Fix Version 1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/01/2010 18/01/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/12/2009 04/01/2010 More Details
Online S@ver v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 02/11/2009 02/11/2009 More Details
Online Version 5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/07/2009 22/07/2009 More Details
Online S@ver v2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/07/2009 01/07/2009 More Details
Annual fix v3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/06/2009 22/06/2009 More Details
Energy Discount Plan New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 07/05/2009 27/04/2009 More Details
Standard Price Decrease 8.8% Price Decrease 06/03/2009 31/03/2009 More Details
Annual Fix v.2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/03/2009 09/02/2009 More Details
Annual Fix v.1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/01/2009 19/01/2009 More Details
Price Freeze 2009 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/11/2008 17/11/2008 More Details
Online v.6 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/10/2008 01/10/2008 More Details
Price Protection 2010 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/10/2008 01/10/2008 More Details
Price Protection 2009 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/07/2008 25/07/2008 More Details
All Products 22% Price Increase 17% Price Increase 25/07/2008 25/07/2008 More Details
Fixed Price 2009 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/03/2008 17/03/2008 More Details
Standard 12.9% Price Increase 7.9% Price Increase 18/01/2008 18/01/2008 More Details
Price Saver 2008 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/08/2007 31/08/2007 More Details
Standard 10.2% Price Decrease Price Decrease 30/04/2007 15/06/2007 More Details
Online Tariff v 5.1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/03/2007 01/03/2007 More Details
Online Tariff v 5.1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/01/2007 05/01/2007 More Details
All Products 19% Price Increase 8% Price Increase 24/07/2006 24/07/2006 More Details
Online Tariff v 4.1 Price Increase Price Increase 24/07/2006 24/07/2006 More Details
Fixed 2010 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 24/07/2006 24/07/2006 More Details
All Products New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 05/06/2006 05/06/2006 More Details
Online Tariff v 4.1 no change no change 17/05/2006 17/05/2006 More Details
All Products 14.7% Price Increase 4.7% Price Increase 20/02/2006 13/03/2006 More Details
All Products 12% Price Increase 10.7% Price Increase 01/08/2005 01/08/2005 More Details