Ecotricity Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

22 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

Our Expert Says...

A 'green' electricity provider focusing on investments in renewable energy such as wind farms. Due to this investment strategy the premiums remain higher than those from the BIG 6.

Ecotricity is an energy company unlike any other. They take the money their customers spend on their electricity and gas bills and use it to build new sources of Green Energy. By green energy they mean 100% Green Electricity made from the wind and the sun – and Green Gas which, over time, will be made from organic material.

Their ethical pricing means everyone pays the latest best price, no matter when they joined and regardless of how they pay – including customers on prepayment meters.

Ecotricity's awesome customer service gives them the lowest complaints level of any energy supplier. They also came top of the 2014 Which? Energy Consumer Survey.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

Hands down the best company I know

Added 06/10/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Liverpool)

Supplier Ratings

I switched to these because they were the cheapest around. My gas card came quicker than expected and by know fault of there's I used it before the date I was told. they told me to wait till the date that was on the letter which in this case was only a week. so I waited and then put the card in my meter but sadly it didn't work, but now ecotricity was my supplier I called up at 17:00 explaining the situation. They told me they would call me back after they do there wizardry on the computer and see what they can do. After about a hour and a half they phoned back explaining that they have sent out a engineer that will supply me with enough credit till my new gas card comes. If this isn't top quality service I don't know what is. Best (and cheapest) supplier around other companies take notes.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Very Happy Customer

Added 21/07/2014, reviewed by Samantha (Tamworth)

Supplier Ratings

I am a prepayment customer for both my gas & electricity Ive tried numerous suppliers including Eon, EDF, British Gas, NPower & Economy none come anywhere close to Ecotricity. I'd never heard of them until I did a comparison on compare the market but they are amazing. Far cheaper on gas & electricity, great customer service & great for the enviroment.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Billing systems not fit for purpose

Added 17/06/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Dagenham)

Supplier Ratings

Unfortunately, Ecotricity's billing systems are not up to scratch resulting in them persistently issuing massively inflated estimated bills. I rented my property out for a time whilst at university and the tenants were very high energy users. As a result, since moving back in I have been receiving estimated bills which are 2 to 3 times what I actually owe. I have explained the situation to Ecotricity and they have details of my historic usage from my previous occupancy but say their systems are so creaky that they can't refer to that prior period. Overall they are completely indifferent to the fact that they are funding their own cashflow at customer expense - how would you feel if Tesco said "our tills don't work that well so just pays us three times the marked prices"? Indeed. Switching.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Much better provider than the big boys

Added 10/01/2013, reviewed by Kath (London)

Supplier Ratings

We first heard of Ecotricity on Robert Llewellyn's video podcast "Carpool" (in the days prior to it being made for Dave). We were having a lot of problems from our energy supplier at the time, NPower, which ended with us taking them to the small claims court (& winning!) for their appalling levels of workmanship and terrible customer service during a boiler and radiator installation. Since joining Ecotricity a little over 2 years ago we haven't looked back. I like that a large percentage of our electricity is provided by wind turbines and even better that there isn't a board that pockets all the profits. Profits made get reinvested back into the company to build more wind turbines. Customer services at Ecotricity are brilliant and you are really made to feel like you matter. So switch now!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Nice people but bad service

Added 31/12/2012, reviewed by anonymous (Ashburton)

Supplier Ratings

Gave misinformation which cost us £50. No apology forthcoming or refund. Perhaps the staff need more training Really disappointed as we switched for ethical reasons .

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.


Page:First« Previous
12345
Next »Last

Ecotricity - Price Change Indicator

See when Ecotricity changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
New Energy and New Energy Plus Price Increase Price Increase 13/05/2013 13/05/2013 More Details
New energy and New energy plus Price Decrease Price Decrease 27/02/2012 27/02/2012 More Details
Various Tariffs Price Increase Price Increase 20/10/2011 20/10/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs Price Increase Price Increase 12/09/2011 12/09/2011 More Details
All Price Decrease Price Decrease 10/08/2009 01/05/2009 More Details
All Products Price Increase Price Increase 01/08/2008 01/08/2008 More Details
All Products Price Increase Price Increase 01/04/2008 01/04/2008 More Details
New Energy Price Increase Price Increase 22/01/2008 22/01/2008 More Details
New Energy Plus Price Increase Price Increase 22/01/2008 22/01/2008 More Details
New & Old Energy Price Increase Price Increase 01/01/2007 01/01/2007 More Details
New & Old Energy Price Increase Price Increase 01/10/2006 01/10/2006 More Details
New & Old Energy Price Increase Price Increase 30/08/2006 20/09/2006 More Details
New & Old Energy Price Increase Price Increase 02/08/2006 18/09/2006 More Details
New & Old Energy Price Increase Price Increase 10/07/2006 01/08/2006 More Details