British Gas Reviews

Supplier Service Rating Customer Reviews

512 Reviews
Reviews Page Enquiry Page

Our Expert Says...

British Gas remains the UK’s biggest energy provider with 17 million customers.

British Gas is the UK's largest energy supplier, and serves around 11 million homes in Britain –nearly half the country's homes – as well as providing energy to around half a million UK businesses. Owned by parent company Centrica, British Gas also provides services such as boiler cover under their "Homecare" range. Known mainly as British Gas, they are also known as Scottish Gas in Scotland.

Overall Rating

These average scores represent customer ratings for the displayed supplier, calculated from all the customer reviews displayed below.

Reviews

Engineer fixed within 2 hours of call

Added 13/10/2014, reviewed by anonymous (London)

Supplier Ratings

I rang British Gas this morning after the boiler failed to heat the radiators, but hot water was still working. I spoke to a friendly and helpful gent on the phone without having to press any buttons to continue, or even hold to speak to a person. The operator took down the details I gave him, and said let me see when we can fit you in (I called at 11.20 this morning), 40 minutes later I got a phonecall saying the engineer was 15 minutes away. Several diagnostic tests, 45 minutes and a new timer later the system was fixed. The engineer was polite, friendly, accepted a coffee when offered, informative on the features of the new timer and very helpful, even talking about the history of our building. He also went through the issues and why the unit needed replacing. Brilliant

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Will never use british gas again.

Added 10/10/2014, reviewed by Neil (Edinburgh)

Supplier Ratings

I bought a repossessed property one year ago and have had problem after problem with british gas. Unfortunately there was a 'smart' meter installed which has caused me problem after problem. I have contacted british gas 4/5 times as I keep 'failing' the credit checks, even though I am 984/999 in the green on Experian? I told the girl I am in the green excellent section on Experian and she said there's nothing british gas can do for me unless i contact Experian. I have even waited a year as I was told the meters can not be changed until I have lived in the property for 1 year to my surprise. Has anyone else had a problem like this? I have just about given up and I am now going to move supplier.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Surprisingly efficient

Added 02/10/2014, reviewed by Rob (Ely)

Supplier Ratings

I have heard so much bad about British Gas, and I am certain that is warranted, but I felt I should add my voice to the supporting column. I had 2 years of British Gas in my previous property. Initially for gas and electricity and then just for electricity. The service was always fine and the customer service was fine as well. The app is better and more efficient than any other ones I've used for energy companies. They responded to all queries efficiently and when I moved house recently their website provided a fast and efficient option for me to close my account and provided my final bill within a day. The only reason I am not sticking with them is I can save money elsewhere, and having just bought a house this is key. However if in the future they had a competitive tariff I'd go back.

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

change now before it's too late

Added 28/08/2014, reviewed by anonymous (chippenham)

Supplier Ratings

I recently switched to British Gas, who sent someone to read my meter. The guy read the wrong meter and I got a bill for £2,300 , stating I had used over 17,000 units (I had actually used 410). I immediately phoned up to tell them of their mistake, I was told that a new bill would be sent out and that the incorrect bill was cancelled. About 10 days later, with no notice/reminders etc they took the money from my bank account. I complained and got an email saying my complaint would be dealt with in 10 days-I'm still waiting for a refund!!

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.

Awful Customer service

Added 17/06/2014, reviewed by anonymous (Upminster)

Supplier Ratings

I had to wait almost 3 years before getting back the money that they overcharged me!!! Unbelivable

This review is the subjective opinion of a Moneysupermarket user and not of Moneysupermarket.com.


Page:First« PreviousNext »Last

British Gas - Price Change Indicator

See when British Gas changed their Gas & Electricity prices and by how much. Down arrows represent price drops and up arrows represent price increases.

Tariff Name Gas Price
Change %
Electricity Price
Change %
Updated Effective Date
HomeEnergy Fixed Nov 2018 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/07/2016 01/07/2016 More Details
HomeEnergy Reward Nov 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/07/2016 01/07/2016 More Details
HomeEnergy Capped Nov 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/07/2016 01/07/2016 More Details
HomeEnergy FreeTime (Sat) Mar 2018 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/07/2016 01/07/2016 More Details
HomeEnergy FreeTime (Sun) Mar 2018 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/07/2016 01/07/2016 More Details
HomeEnergy Fixed Sep 2018 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/04/2016 29/04/2016 More Details
Standard 5.1% Price Decrease Price Decrease 11/02/2016 16/03/2016 More Details
Fixed Price July 2018 5.1% Price Decrease Price Decrease 11/02/2016 16/03/2016 More Details
HomeEnergy Capped Jun 2017 5.1% Price Decrease Price Decrease 11/02/2016 16/03/2016 More Details
HomeEnergy Reward Jun 2017 5.1% Price Decrease Price Decrease 11/02/2016 16/03/2016 More Details
Fix and Fall November 2016 5.1% Price Decrease Price Decrease 11/02/2016 16/03/2016 More Details
Fix and Fall January 2017 5.1% Price Decrease Price Decrease 11/02/2016 16/03/2016 More Details
Fix and Fall June 2016 5.1% Price Decrease Price Decrease 11/02/2016 16/03/2016 More Details
Fix and Fall March 2016 5.1% Price Decrease Price Decrease 11/02/2016 16/03/2016 More Details
Fix and Fall March 2016 Extra 5.1% Price Decrease Price Decrease 11/02/2016 16/03/2016 More Details
Fix and Fall March 2016 Plus 5.1% Price Decrease Price Decrease 11/02/2016 16/03/2016 More Details
HomeEnergy Capped Jun 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/01/2016 29/01/2016 More Details
HomeEnergy Reward Jun 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 29/01/2016 29/01/2016 More Details
Fixed Price July 2018 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/12/2015 15/12/2015 More Details
Various Price Decrease Price Decrease 27/08/2015 27/08/2015 More Details
Fixed Price March 2018 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 27/08/2015 27/08/2015 More Details
Fix and Reward January 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 27/08/2015 27/08/2015 More Details
Fix and Fall January 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 15/07/2015 15/07/2015 More Details
Fix and Reward September 2016 5% Price Decrease Price Decrease 15/07/2015 15/07/2015 More Details
Fix and Fall November 2016 and energysmart version New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/06/2015 30/06/2015 More Details
Fix and Reward September 2016 and energysmart version New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/06/2015 30/06/2015 More Details
Fixed Price August 2016 no change no change 05/06/2015 05/06/2015 More Details
Fixed Price August 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/03/2015 31/03/2015 More Details
Standard 5% Price Decrease Price Decrease 27/02/2015 27/02/2015 More Details
Fix and Fall February 2015 5% Price Decrease Price Decrease 27/02/2015 27/02/2015 More Details
Fix and Fall June 2016 5% Price Decrease Price Decrease 27/02/2015 27/02/2015 More Details
Fix and Fall March 2016 5% Price Decrease Price Decrease 27/02/2015 27/02/2015 More Details
Fix and Fall March 2016 Extra 5% Price Decrease Price Decrease 27/02/2015 27/02/2015 More Details
Fix and Fall March 2016 Plus 5% Price Decrease Price Decrease 27/02/2015 27/02/2015 More Details
Price Protection March 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 27/02/2015 27/02/2015 More Details
Fix and Reward June 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 27/02/2015 27/02/2015 More Details
British Gas New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/01/2015 30/01/2015 More Details
Fix and Fall June 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/12/2014 01/12/2014 More Details
Fix and Reward February 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/12/2014 01/12/2014 More Details
Fixed Price December 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/12/2014 01/12/2014 More Details
Fix and Fall March 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/09/2014 30/09/2014 More Details
Fixed Price November 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/09/2014 01/09/2014 More Details
Fix and Reward March 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/09/2014 01/09/2014 More Details
Fixed Price August 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/05/2014 30/05/2014 More Details
Fixed Price January 2017 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/05/2014 30/05/2014 More Details
Fix and reward august 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/04/2014 30/04/2014 More Details
Fixed Price May 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/02/2014 28/02/2014 More Details
Fix and Control Aug 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 28/02/2014 28/02/2014 More Details
Fixed Price Feb 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 16/01/2014 16/01/2014 More Details
Selected tariffs 3.2% Price Decrease 3.2% Price Decrease 01/01/2014 01/01/2014 More Details
Fix and Fall Feb 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/11/2013 25/11/2013 More Details
Fixed and Gift Card May 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 25/11/2013 25/11/2013 More Details
All tariffs 8.4% Price Increase 10.4% Price Increase 01/11/2013 23/11/2013 More Details
Standard New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 17/10/2013 More Details
Fix and Fall November 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 17/10/2013 More Details
Fixed Price March 2016 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 17/10/2013 More Details
Sustainable Energy Nov 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/11/2013 17/10/2013 More Details
Price Promise July 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/08/2013 30/08/2013 More Details
Fixed Price October 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/07/2013 12/07/2013 More Details
Online Variable August 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/05/2013 30/05/2013 More Details
Price Promise April 2015 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/02/2013 22/02/2013 More Details
Price Promise July 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/02/2013 22/02/2013 More Details
Online Variable May 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/02/2013 22/02/2013 More Details
All tariffs 6% Price Increase 6% Price Increase 16/11/2012 16/11/2012 More Details
Fix and Fall March 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 12/10/2012 12/10/2012 More Details
Clear & Simple New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/06/2012 22/06/2012 More Details
Online Variable Aug 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/06/2012 22/06/2012 More Details
Fixed Price May 2014 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/06/2012 22/06/2012 More Details
Sustainable Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/06/2012 22/06/2012 More Details
Fixed Price June 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 14/02/2012 14/02/2012 More Details
Standard (Various tariffs) 0% Price Decrease 5% Price Decrease 12/01/2012 12/01/2012 More Details
Energy Online New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 17/11/2011 17/11/2011 More Details
WebSaver 13 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/09/2011 22/09/2011 More Details
Online Saver 5 with Energy Smart New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/09/2011 21/09/2011 More Details
Online Fixed New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 21/09/2011 21/09/2011 More Details
Price Promise March 2013 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/07/2011 08/07/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs 18% Price Increase 16% Price Increase 08/07/2011 08/07/2011 More Details
Energyshare New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/05/2011 26/05/2011 More Details
WebSaver 12 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 19/05/2011 19/05/2011 More Details
WebSaver 11 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/02/2011 23/02/2011 More Details
WebSaver 11 + One Off Repairs for your home New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/02/2011 23/02/2011 More Details
Various Tariffs 7% Price Increase 7% Price Increase 15/11/2010 10/12/2010 More Details
WebSaver 10 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/10/2010 13/10/2010 More Details
WebSaver 10 + One Off Repairs for your home New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/10/2010 13/10/2010 More Details
WebSaver 9 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/08/2010 20/08/2010 More Details
WebSaver 9 + One Off Repairs for your home New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 23/08/2010 20/08/2010 More Details
WebSaver 8 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/06/2010 18/06/2010 More Details
WebSaver 7 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/04/2010 09/04/2010 More Details
Click Pay As You Go Energy Price Decrease Price Decrease 09/04/2010 09/04/2010 More Details
Click Energy Price Decrease Price Decrease 09/04/2010 09/04/2010 More Details
Future Energy Price Decrease Price Decrease 09/04/2010 09/04/2010 More Details
Zero Carbon Price Decrease Price Decrease 09/04/2010 09/04/2010 More Details
WebSaver 6 Price Decrease Price Decrease 09/04/2010 09/04/2010 More Details
Standard Price Decrease Price Decrease 09/04/2010 09/04/2010 More Details
WebSaver 6 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 04/02/2010 04/02/2010 More Details
WebSaver 5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/12/2009 07/12/2009 More Details
WebSaver 4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/10/2009 20/08/2009 More Details
Track and Save 2011 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 13/08/2009 27/07/2009 More Details
Standard Price Decrease 10% Price Decrease 11/05/2009 07/05/2009 More Details
WebSaver 3 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 11/05/2009 07/05/2009 More Details
Web Saver 2 Price Decrease Price Decrease 20/04/2009 07/04/2009 More Details
WebSaver 2 Price Decrease Price Decrease 24/03/2009 24/03/2009 More Details
Standard 10% Price Decrease Price Decrease 06/03/2009 19/02/2009 More Details
Web Saver 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/03/2009 19/02/2009 More Details
Web Saver 1 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 06/03/2009 18/02/2009 More Details
Fixed Price 2012 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/09/2008 18/09/2008 More Details
Price Guarantee 2011 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 30/07/2008 30/07/2008 More Details
All Products 35% Price Increase 9% Price Increase 30/07/2008 30/07/2008 More Details
Standard 35% Price Increase 9% Price Increase 30/07/2008 30/07/2008 More Details
Market Tracker 14.6% Price Increase 16% Price Increase 09/06/2008 09/06/2008 More Details
Price Guarantee 2009 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 22/05/2008 01/06/2008 More Details
Click Energy 5 Price Decrease Price Decrease 29/05/2008 29/05/2008 More Details
Click 5 Energy Price Decrease Price Decrease 08/05/2008 08/05/2008 More Details
Click Energy 4 18.6% Price Increase 18.6% Price Increase 08/02/2008 08/02/2008 More Details
Click Energy 5 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 08/02/2008 08/02/2008 More Details
Standard 15% Price Increase 15% Price Increase 18/01/2008 18/01/2008 More Details
Price Protection 2009 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/01/2008 18/01/2008 More Details
Market Tracker 14.3% Price Increase 15% Price Increase 04/12/2007 04/12/2007 More Details
Click Energy 4 Price Decrease Price Decrease 09/10/2007 09/10/2007 More Details
Click Energy 4 Priority Response Price Decrease Price Decrease 09/10/2007 09/10/2007 More Details
Click Energy 4 Priority Response New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/10/2007 01/10/2007 More Details
Future Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/07/2007 31/07/2007 More Details
Zero Carbon New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 31/07/2007 31/07/2007 More Details
Market Tracker New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 26/07/2007 26/07/2007 More Details
Standard 3% Price Decrease 6% Price Decrease 26/04/2007 26/04/2007 More Details
Click Energy 2 Price Decrease 5% Price Decrease 02/03/2007 12/03/2007 More Details
Click Energy 2 1% Price Decrease Price Decrease 16/02/2007 12/03/2007 More Details
Standard 17% Price Decrease 11% Price Decrease 09/02/2007 12/03/2007 More Details
Price Guarantee 2008 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 09/02/2007 12/03/2007 More Details
Click Energy 2 20% Price Decrease 9.2% Price Decrease 09/02/2007 12/03/2007 More Details
Click Energy 4 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 10/01/2007 10/01/2007 More Details
Regional Discounted Electricty Price Increase 8.1% Price Increase 06/12/2006 08/01/2007 More Details
Click Energy 12.5% Price Increase 9.5% Price Increase 06/12/2006 08/01/2007 More Details
Fix & Fall 2 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 24/10/2006 24/10/2006 More Details
Standard 12.4% Price Increase 9.4% Price Increase 01/08/2006 04/09/2006 More Details
Fix & Fall New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 01/08/2006 27/07/2006 More Details
Price Protection 2009 no change no change 27/07/2006 27/07/2006 More Details
Price Protection 2009 no change no change 14/07/2006 14/07/2006 More Details
Click Energy Price Increase 21.8% Price Increase 03/06/2006 05/06/2006 More Details
Price Protection 2009 no change no change 24/04/2006 02/05/2006 More Details
All Products 22% Price Increase 22% Price Increase 17/02/2006 01/03/2006 More Details
Price Protection 2009 New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/02/2006 18/02/2006 More Details
Standard New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/02/2006 18/02/2006 More Details
Click Energy New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff New Tariff 18/02/2006 18/02/2006 More Details
Standard 14.2% Price Increase 14.2% Price Increase 09/09/2005 19/09/2005 More Details