Oz rules as Ashes result sees flight prices plummet

Published:
21/07/2009
Topic:
Press Release,Travel,Flights

Capitalising on the patriotism sweeping the nation following England's victory over Australia, British Airways and Quantas have joined forces to offer cut price fares to Australia based on the first innings scores of the second test, with the number of seats determined by the amount of runs scored by the opposing team.

Bob Atkinson, travel expert at travelsupmarket.com comments on the offer and result: "It's great to see both companies joining forces to the benefit of the consumer on this joyous sporting occasion. By making long haul destinations such as Australia available to hundreds of holidaymakers at such a great prices, both British Airways and Quantas have demonstrated an admirable level of sportsmanship.

"The competition has attracted thousands of visitors to both websites and could potentially boost business for them overall. Even in these difficult economic times its great to see airlines getting on board with some old fashioned sporting patriotism. "

Both British Airways and Qantas were giving away 425 flights to Sydney for £215 - a reduction on a typical fare of £730. The offer was available on 21 July, 2009 on British Airways flights from 10am, and Qantas flights from 8am.


-Ends-

Download This Press Release

Download as RTF

Related Links

Related Resouces

Media contacts

Susannah Clark - Head of PR
0778840 5224
01244 665793
susannah.clark@moneysupermarket.com

 

Paul Lawler - PR Manager (Financial Services)
07872 379545
01244 370317
paul.lawler@moneysupermarket.com

 

Nicola Parry - PR Officer (Financial Services)
07872 379549
01244 370318
nicola.parry@moneysupermarket.com

 

Emma Morris - PR Manager (Travel & Shopping)
Travelsupermarket.com
Moneysupermarket Shopping

07775 941689
01244 220671
emma.morris@moneysupermarket.com

 

Clare Francis
Head of Content

07595 067818
01244 220650
clare.francis@moneysupermarket.com

 

Kate Murphy
Media
Communications Executive
01244 221978
kate.murphy@moneysupermarket.com